LORA网络铺平了道路,到智能城市

LORA网络铺平了道路,到智能城市

劳拉是一个基于无线技术, LoRaWAN 协议, 其中除了5G是适合城市向智能城市发展. 在某些应用, 洛拉网络甚至比经常提到的新的移动无线电标准更适合.

许多有发展成为一个智慧城市的目标. 的想法 “智能城市” (智能城市) 是不是新. 实施智能城市技术的目的是提高居民生活质量, 创造效益, 缩短等待时间, 满足服务的需求,并更有效地利用城市资源,从而税钱. 最近的一项研究表明,智能城市可以节省 $ 5 万亿成本降低 2022.

物联网, 物联网短, 扮演一个重要组成部分. 它渗透生活的几乎所有领域,切实改变每个公司和每个分支. 鉴于下一代5G移动通信的可能性, 问题出现了这种技术是否是不自然的解决方案,以现有的智能城市的问题? 但也有其他的技术,可能更有意义的智能城市某些应用 – 如通过智能照明减少能源消耗, 米, 等等. 其中之一是LORA.

什么是网络洛拉?

简单的回答: 远距离无线. 该LORA技术长距离无线 (无线电) 数据通信是通过使用非常少的功率半导体芯片成为可能. 根据这样的无线电发射机的功能和功能性, 一节电池可以使用电力供应好几年了. 这应该使人们有可能运行 10 至 20 年不换电池. 这极大地降低了维护工作量.

相较于4G或5G, 洛拉网络在未许可的频谱中操作. 这使得双向通信,而不建立在国家许可频谱的网络所需的监管和拍卖费用. 特别, LoRaWAN使用区域不同的频率范围在ISM频带和SRD波段. 在欧洲, ISM频段区域 1 从 433.05 MHz至 434.79 MHz和SRD波段从欧洲 863 MHz至 870 兆赫. 在北美, 另一方面, 数据传输发生在ISM频带区域 2 从 902 MHz至 928 兆赫.

在一个开放的合作, 统一的协议旨在创造增值和增加覆盖范围.

LORA网络在城市使用

LORA技术提供的技术和经济优势,为智慧城市应用. LORA和LoRaWAN提供智能监控和控制基础设施. 这使施塔特高效地收集和分析数以千计的网络设备和系统的数据. 有了这个信息, 例如, 他们应该能够更好地决定哪些服务适合他们的计划.

对于人口稠密的都市地区, 有利的是,LoRaWAN信号穿透相对深入到市区. 智能城市技术正在改变城市的方式, 当局和市民互动.

路灯在波士顿

波士顿的马萨诸塞州的示例显示了什么是可能的LORA. 全市有超过 67,000 路灯. 他们照亮繁忙的街道, 历史景点, 和主要街道. 拥有超过 1,600 开关箱 32,000 井盖, 保持这种基础设施是一个很大的公共努力 – 尤其是当灯下大量使用在冬季.

LORA传感器和网关

那么,如何智能照明工作,像波士顿城市? 随着网络洛拉, 传感器可被集成到任何街道照明系统,其控制照明和收集使用数据. 而LORA技术收集所有的数据通过LORA联盟附近的路灯. 然后网关将信息发送到公共云或私有云服务器, 其分析数据, 最终控制照明和自动生成关于熄灯,并且如果必要的其他故障警告. 关于烧坏的灯泡,如果需要其他故障警告.

用户甚至可以添加在空中 (OTA) 如果必要的公共和专用网络之间的更新开关. 在LORA技术的双向通信使这成为可能. 在智能城市,劳拉技术的应用范围是非常多样的,不与点火端. 该技术可以以不同的方式使用:

停车处: 智能停车场监控显示城市的停车场,以缓解交通拥堵时,司机正在寻找一个停车位. 研究表明,司机花 17 小时一年寻找一个停车位.

交通流: 交通监控直升机有朝一日成为过去的事情. 交通拥堵是一项重大挑战,不安的城市居民. 监测车辆和行人通行引导行人和车辆更好的智能交通系统. 这是通过使用智能交通信号灯该记录的交通和协调光阶段完成. 在将来, 智能交通系统甚至可以包括交通灯信号和传感器在车辆之间的通信.

交通信号灯的维护: 交通信号灯的监控使城市 / 市政管理局迅速反应,烂花灯, 有缺陷的路灯杆 (因意外事故) 或有缺陷的信号系统. 这有助于堵车, 可能发生的事故等危险情况.

预测性维护: 智能楼宇系统可以提供一种使用预测性维护系统,以确保设施的正常维护的数据. 这些系统可以监测建筑物的振动等物理条件, 桥梁和历史古迹, 从而使政府可以采取行动,需要大修前.

垃圾处理: 垃圾收集是用于城市管理责任的一个重要方面. 太频繁, 然而, 不必要的资源浪费, e.g. 空一半或小填充垃圾箱. 这是更糟糕的,如果废物容器是缺乏跟踪选项因人满为患. 智能废物管理系统,可以帮助确定容器中的废物水平,以优化垃圾收集路线,以提高工作效率, 成本, 和清洁.

噪音和空气污染: 随着越来越多的人迁移到城市, 噪音和空气污染正成为一个更大的挑战. 智能噪音和空气污染监测可以提供数据,以提高福利的公民,并显示全身健康问题之间的联系.

洛拉和LED: 与港口城市为例

在 2017, 塔林的Kopli半岛湾西海岸码头是Kakumäe (爱沙尼亚) 测试技术洛拉. 港口拥有广泛的设施, 包括浮桥码头, 漂浮酒店, 行政大楼, 餐饮设施和儿童帆船学校, 使得它在这个波罗的海地区的现代化航运中心. 为了跟上最新的港口技术, 照明必须除基础设施进行现代化改造.

的洛拉安装在端口所有灯可经由网络LoRaWAN进行远程控制测试. 灯控制器通过属于该端口的无线电系统连接到LoRaWAN网关. 其他网关附近也支持这种连接. 安全的IoT毂平台可视化通过LoRaWAN后端加密从终端节点的数据.

LORA网络照明系统

经由LORA灯的网络可实现与预先配置的照明轮廓,使得端口记录降低功耗自主操作,并且具有用于所述照明系统的成本效益的解决方案. 虽然端口仍处于测试解决方案, 通过LORA操作的控制器已经显示出改善的实时控制和均匀照明. 监视光强度的能力, 不必要地工作的灯能够避免,因此能够避免不必要的成本操作模式和运动装置.

有了这个新的照明系统的实施, 端口设置什么样的未来港口可能看起来像课程. 安全不受到危害. 在通过完全安全的平台,除了数据传输, 除了能够在一个完全安全的平台传输数据, 访问控制系统,使更多的灵活性和实时通知以及对可能非法活动的警告. 为了解决安全问题, 升特公司的技术可以确保没有人可以访问根密钥, 该系统无法复制, 并且,只有实际的用户有权访问所述传感器数据.

该技术还可以在专用网络上运行, 给供应商更多的控制, 能见度, 而在数据安全. 该技术还可以在专用网络中操作给供应商更多的控制, 可见性和安全性在数据. 智能系统是实施自动化和简化基础设施的过程 (e.g. 灯光) 是对港口更智能和更可靠的工艺的第一步.

更少的维护,由于高能源效率

如果一个应用程序的附加价值增加,并且在基础设施和维修投资减小LORA网络是特别有利的. 灵活, LORA技术节能支持长距离建立公共网络或专用网络的. 想象一下,成千上万的安装在路灯的传感器,你将不得不在这些传感器一年几次更换电池. 由于LORA的功耗极低, 在传感器的电池可以实现多年的经营, 这显著减少了时间, 维修保养费用和人员开支.

此外, LORA的灵活和可扩展的架构, 这是基于非许可频谱, 能够和远程公共或专用网络可以快速,方便地建立 – 从港口到城市停车场. 传感器甚至可以在现有的蜂窝塔安装. 这减少了建立一个网络基础设施是支持物联网应用所需要的投资.

再加上传感器,提供了远程 (取决于 50 公里农村) 以上公里人口稠密的城市地区或室内区域, LORA的优点是显而易见的. 智能城市技术能够提供更智能,新的解决方案提高了城市的应用. 建立可扩展的, 灵活, 和安全远程网络物联网可以做一些基础设施投资不必要的,降低维护成本. LORA和LoRaWAN规范是成功的智能城市解决方案的适当基础.

LoRa Network Paves The Way To A Smart City

LoRa Network Paves The Way To A Smart City

LoRa is a radio technology based on the LoRaWAN protocol, which in addition to 5G is suitable for the development of cities towards smart cities. In some applications, LoRa network is even more suitable than the often-mentioned new mobile radio standard.

Many with the goal of developing into a smart city. The idea of ​​an “intelligent city” (Smart City) is not new. The aim of implementing smart city technologies is to improve the quality of life for residents, create efficiency, shorten waiting times, meet the need for services and use the city’s resources and thus tax money more efficiently. A recent study shows that smart cities can save $ 5 trillion in costs by 2022.

The Internet of Things, IoT for short, plays an important part in this. It penetrates almost all areas of life and changes practically every company and every branch. In view of the possibilities of the next generation of 5G mobile communications, the question arises whether this technology is not the natural solution to existing smart city problems? But there are other technologies that may make more sense for certain applications in smart cities – such as reducing energy consumption through intelligent lighting, meters, etc. One of them is LoRa.

What is LoRa Network?

The quick answer: Long Range Radio. The LoRa technology for long-range wireless (radio) data communication is made possible by semiconductor ICs that use very little power. Depending on the function and functionality of such a radio transmitter, a battery can supply it with electricity for years. This should make it possible to run for 10 to 20 years without changing the battery. This enormously reduces the maintenance effort.

In contrast to 4G or 5G, LoRa network operate in an unlicensed spectrum. This enables bidirectional communication without the regulatory and auction costs required to build a network on state-licensed spectra. Specifically, LoRaWAN uses regionally different frequency ranges in the ISM band and SRD band. In Europe, the ISM band region 1 from 433.05 MHz to 434.79 MHz and the SRD band Europe from 863 MHz to 870 MHz. In North America, on the other hand, data transmission takes place on the ISM band region 2 from 902 MHz to 928 MHz.

Working together on an open, uniform protocol is intended to create added value and increase coverage.

LoRa Network in urban use

LoRa technology offers technical and economic advantages for smart city applications. LoRa and LoRaWAN provide intelligent monitoring and control infrastructure. This enables Städt to efficiently collect and analyze data from thousands of networked devices and systems. With this information, for example, they should be able to better decide which services are suitable for their plans.

For densely populated metropolitan areas, it is advantageous that LoRaWAN signals penetrate relatively deeply into urban areas. Smart city technology is changing the way cities, authorities and citizens interact.

Street lights in Boston

The example of Boston in Massachusetts shows what is possible with LoRa. The city has more than 67,000 street lamps. They illuminate busy streets, historical sights, and main streets. With over 1,600 switch boxes and 32,000 manhole covers, maintaining this infrastructure is a considerable communal effort – especially when the lamps are under heavy use in the winter months.

LoRa sensors and gateways

So how does smart lighting work in a city like Boston? With LoRa network, sensors can be integrated into any street lighting system that controls lighting and collects usage data. And the LoRa technology collects the data of all the nearby street lights through LoRa alliance. The gateway then sends the information to a public or private cloud server, which analyzes the data, eventually controls the lighting and automatically generates warnings about lights out and other failures if necessary. Warnings about burned-out lamps and other malfunctions if necessary.

Users can even add over-the-air (OTA) updates to switch between public and private networks if necessary. The bidirectional communication of the LoRa technology makes this possible. The range of applications for LoRa technology in smart cities is extremely diverse and does not end with lighting. The technology can be used in different ways:

Parking: Intelligent parking lot monitoring displays city parking lots to reduce traffic congestion when drivers are looking for a parking space. Studies show that drivers spend 17 hours a year looking for a parking space.

Traffic flow: Helicopters for traffic monitoring could one day be a thing of the past. Traffic congestion is a major challenge and disturbing for city dwellers. Intelligent traffic systems that monitor both vehicle and pedestrian traffic can guide cars and pedestrians much better. This is done using intelligent traffic lights that record traffic and coordinate the light phases. In the future, intelligent traffic systems could even include communication between traffic light signals and sensors in vehicles.

Maintenance of traffic lights: The monitoring of traffic lights enables city / municipal administrations to react quickly to burnt-out lamps, defective light poles (due to an accident) or to faulty signaling systems. This helps with traffic jams, possible accidents and other dangerous situations.

Predictive maintenance: Smart building systems can provide data that uses a predictive maintenance system to ensure that facilities are properly maintained. These systems can monitor vibrations and other physical conditions in buildings, bridges and historical monuments, so that the administration can take action before major repairs are required.

Waste disposal: The collection of waste is an essential area of ​​responsibility for the city administration. Too often, however, unnecessary resources are wasted, e.g. to empty half or little-filled waste bins. It is even worse if waste containers are overcrowded due to the lack of tracking options. Intelligent waste management systems can help identify waste levels in containers to optimize waste collection routes to improve efficiency, costs, and cleanliness.

Noise and air pollution: as more and more people move to cities, noise and air pollution are becoming an even bigger challenge. Smart noise and air pollution monitoring can provide data to improve the well-being of citizens and show the links between systemic health problems.

LoRa and LEDs: A case study with port cities

In 2017, Tallinn’s marina on the west coast of the Kopli Gulf on the Kakumäe peninsula (Estonia) tested LoRa technology. The port has extensive facilities, including pontoon docks, a floating hotel, administration buildings, dining facilities and a sailing school for children, making it a modern maritime center in this Baltic Sea region. In order to keep up to date with the latest port technology, the lighting must be modernized in addition to the infrastructure.

The LoRa installation is tested in all lamps in the port that can be remotely controlled via a LoRaWAN network. The lamp controller is connected to the LoRaWAN gateway through a radio system belonging to the port. Other gateways nearby also support this connection. The secure IoT hub platform visualizes encrypted data from the terminal nodes through the LoRaWAN backend.

LoRa network lighting system

The networking of lamps via LoRa enables autonomous operation with preconfigured lighting profiles so that the port records lower power consumption and has a cost-effective solution for the lighting system. Although the port is still testing the solution, the controller operated through LoRa has shown improved real-time control and lighting uniformity. The ability to monitor light intensity, operating mode and movement means that unnecessarily operated lamps can be avoided and thus unnecessary costs can be avoided.

With the implementation of this new lighting system, the port is setting the course for what future ports could look like. The security is not endangered. In addition to the transmission of data via the completely secure platform, In addition to transmitting data over a fully secure platform, access control systems enable more flexibility and real-time notifications as well as warnings about possible unauthorized activities. To address security concerns, Semtech’s technology ensures that no one has access to the root key, that the system cannot be copied, and that only the actual user has access to the sensor data.

The technology can also run on private networks, giving the provider more control, visibility, and security over the data. The technology can also be operated in a private network to give providers more control, visibility and security over the data. The implementation of intelligent systems that automate and simplify infrastructure processes (e.g. lighting) is one of the first steps towards smarter and more reliable processes in ports.

Less maintenance due to high energy efficiency

LoRa network is particularly advantageous if the added value of an application is increased and the investments in infrastructure and maintenance are to be reduced. The flexible, energy-saving LoRa technology supports the establishment of public or private networks over long distances. Imagine thousands of sensors installed in street lamps and you would have to replace the batteries in these sensors several times a year. Due to the extremely low power consumption of LoRa, batteries in sensors can enable years of operation, which significantly reduces the time, cost and personnel expenditure for maintenance.

In addition, the flexible and scalable architecture of LoRa, which is based on a non-licensed spectrum, enables a public or private network with a long-range to be set up quickly and easily – from ports to cities to parking garages. Sensors can even be installed on existing cell towers. This reduces the investment required to set up a network infrastructure that is to support IoT applications.

Together with sensors that offer a long-range (up to 50 km in rural areas) or over kilometers in densely populated urban areas or indoor areas, the advantage of LoRa is immediately apparent. Smart city technologies can offer new solutions for smarter and improved urban applications. Building a scalable, flexible, and secure long-range IoT network can make some infrastructure investments unnecessary and reduce maintenance costs. LoRa and the LoRaWAN specification are a suitable basis for successful smart city solutions.