不同藍牙版本的綜合指南

目錄

天是藍的, 大海是藍色的, 顯然藍牙也是藍色的. 在 2023, 藍牙設備全球出貨量達到天文數字 5.4 十億 單位! 這個數字年復一年地飆升. 從傳輸音訊和文字/圖像, 一直到串流視訊並為低能耗物聯網連接提供動力, 藍牙技術確實讓世界各地人們的生活變得更便捷. 它為連接設備提供了這種無需電纜即可傳輸資料的重要方式. 在本文中, 我們將回顧一下藍牙版本是如何演變的 1.0 至 5.0, 並探索不斷增加的應用. 如果您對這種無所不在的無線技術一無所知, 準備好接受不同藍牙版本的啟發!

什麼是藍牙技術?

藍牙是無線數據和語音傳輸的開放全球標準, 其目的是實現低成本, 不同電子設備之間的短距離無線連接.

藍牙技術的起源

藍牙技術的起源最早可以追溯到 1942 當申請使用FHSS時 (跳頻擴頻) 女演員海蒂·拉瑪 (Hedy Lamarr) 與作曲家喬治·安塞爾 (George Antheil) 共同申請了專利. 該專利的想法是擴大影響魚雷的訊號頻率範圍 88 將使過程更加安全並且更少受到干擾. 但軍方後來在戰爭期間將其改造為無線通信, 進一步的發展將其轉變為藍牙等現代無線技術的基礎, 無線上網, 和3G.

藍牙以中世紀丹麥國王哈拉爾·藍牙 (Harald Bluetooth) 命名,他統一了丹麥和挪威的分裂王國. 這個名字的意思是多個不同設備的整合和交互. 英特爾的 Jim Kardach 提出了藍牙一詞; 藍牙標誌是縮寫HB, 源自哈拉爾德的賜名,並以古挪威文字表示.

藍牙科技發展簡史

  • 在 1994, 愛立信開始研究手機及其配件的低功耗無線接口.
  • 在 1998, 愛立信, IBM, 英特爾, 諾基亞和東芝組成“藍牙特別興趣小組”,制定短程無線電標準.
  • 1999 看到了藍牙 0.7-1.0 指定 2.4GHz 並定義核心協定的規格發布.
  • 在後半段 1999, 微軟, 摩托羅拉, 和其他人加入了促銷活動, 引發全球藍牙的採用. 聯盟已達 1,500 按年份劃分的成員 2000.
  • 2001: 1. 1 IEEE 802.15.1.
  • 2003: 1. 2 引入自適應跳頻.
  • 2004: 2. 1 採用EDR, 最大傳輸速率為 3Mbps.
  • 2007: 2. 1 安全配對/連接, 推出NFC.
  • 2009: 3. 0 與 WiFi 集成, 24Mbps 速度.
  • 2010: 4.0 選擇低功耗藍牙.
  • 2013: 4. 1 支援LTE.
  • 2014: 4. 2 支援IPv6和6LoWPAN.
  • 2016: 5. 0 加倍速度, 擴展範圍.
  • 2019: 5. 1 增強的位置, 能源管理.
  • 2020: 5. 2 支援 LE 音頻, 埃塔.
  • 2021: 5. 3 新增了頻率的連接子額定值.
  • 2023: 5. 4 添加了 PAwR 和 EAD
  • 經過 2023, 藍牙 SIG 擁有超過 40, 000 成員.

藍牙經過多個不同的藍牙版本演進升級,無線通訊效能增強,應用範圍更廣.

經典藍牙版本: 藍牙 1.0 – 3.0

版本 發行年份 最大傳輸範圍 最大範圍
藍牙 1.0 1999 732.2 千比特/秒 10 米 (33 英尺)
藍牙 1.1 2001 732.2 千比特/秒 10 米 (33 英尺)
藍牙 1.2 2003 1 傳輸速率 10 米 (33 英尺)
藍牙 2.0 2004 2.1 傳輸速率 30 米 (100 英尺)
藍牙 2.1 2007 2.1 傳輸速率 30 米 (100 英尺)
藍牙 3.0 2009 24 傳輸速率 30 米 (100 英尺)

藍牙 1.0

在七月 1999, 藍牙SIG正式推出藍牙 1.0 規格, 將科技推進到商業可行的階段. 藍牙 1.0 標準主要針對點對點無線連接,例如行動裝置和計算設備之間的無線通訊, 電腦及週邊設備, 手機和耳機, 其中包括.

原來的藍牙 1.0 規格列出了基本功能, 但它沒有給出足夠詳細的說明如何實際付諸實踐. 這使得不同設備很難協同工作. 由於這些互通性問題, 藍牙 1.0 未能達到炒作的效果,也沒有像希望的那樣在科技界得到廣泛關注.

藍牙 1.1

非官方的 1.1 10月推出版本 2000, 擴展功能以支援點對多點連接並解決版本中存在的問題 1.0. 官方 1.1 規範隨後於三月發布 2001. 確保通訊安全, 藍牙採用加密技術,裝置在連線建立期間交換金鑰以驗證身份. 如果金鑰驗證失敗,則無法進行通信. 藍牙 1.1 解決版本中設備爭奪主從角色的競爭問題 1.0 透過明確定義配對過程.

它標準化了使用 79 所有地區的 2.4GHz 跳頻方案中的頻道. 此外, 從設備可以報告支援的通道數和資料包大小,以允許傳輸參數調整.

藍牙 1.2

十一月 2003, 藍牙 SIG 發布了藍牙 1.2 規格. 作為藍牙 1.1 容易受到 802.11b 無線 LAN 的干擾, 版本 1.2 推出AFH (自適應跳頻) 減少對藍牙設備和其他無線通訊設備的干擾. 而且, 藍牙 1.2 擴展 ESCO 的設備 (增強型同步面向連接) 也確定了語音/音訊傳輸的鏈路類型. 雖然提供了更快連接的可能性, 它仍然與藍牙兼容 1.1 設備.

藍牙 2.0

藍牙 2.0, 11 月發布 2004, 引入了EDR (增強數據速率) 技術, 這是較版本向前邁出的一大步 1.2. 與先前的版本相比,EDR 將資料傳輸速率提高至 3Mbps,頻寬增加了三倍. 這使得大檔案傳輸的功耗比藍牙低兩倍 1.2. 藍牙 2.0 支援全雙工通信, 可同時傳輸語音和數據. 也擴展了多設備連接能力.

藍牙 2.1

三月 2007, 在 CTIA 無線 2007, 藍牙2.1+EDR標準出現. 一個關鍵功能是 NFC 集成,當設備距離很近時,無需手動輸入即可傳輸密碼,從而簡化配對. 嗅探子速率功能可透過將裝置之間的訊號確認間隔從 0.1 秒延長至 0.5 秒來節省電量. 此外, 安全簡單的配對 (固相磷酸鹽) 改善了配對體驗,同時增強了可用性和安全性.

藍牙 3.0

在 2009, 藍牙 SIG 推出藍牙 3.0 + 高速 (HS), 維護版本 2.0 功能相容性. 關鍵的補充是利用 IEEE 802.11PAL 的可選高速擴展 (協定適配層) 支援高達 24Mbps 的吞吐量 – 8x 比藍牙 2.0 的最高 3Mbps 更快.

核心創新是備用 MAC/PHY (AMP) – 使藍牙堆疊能夠針對給定用例動態利用適當的無線電. 這為 EPC 的功耗優化帶來了一些改進 (增強的功率控制) 並將更大的傳輸卸載到 802. 11的較低空閒模式. 而且, 都柏林大學的出現 (單向無連線數據) 幫助改進廣播功能.

藍牙低功耗版本: 藍牙 4.0 – 5.4

版本 發布年份 最大傳輸速度 最大範圍
藍牙 4.0 2009 1 傳輸速率 (這)

3 傳輸速率 (EDR)

60 米 (200 英尺)
藍牙 4.1 2013 1 傳輸速率 (這)

3 傳輸速率 (EDR)

60 米 (200 英尺)
藍牙 4.2 2014 1 傳輸速率 (這)

3 傳輸速率 (EDR)

60 米 (200 英尺)
藍牙 5.0 2016 2 傳輸速率 (這)

50 傳輸速率 (EDR)

240 米 (800 英尺)
藍牙 5.1 2019 2 傳輸速率 (這)

50 傳輸速率 (EDR)

240 米 (800 英尺)
藍牙 5.2 2020 2 傳輸速率 (這)

50 傳輸速率 (EDR)

240 米 (800 英尺)
藍牙 5.3 2021 2 傳輸速率 (這)

50 傳輸速率 (EDR)

240 米 (800 英尺)
藍牙 5.4 2023 2 傳輸速率 (這)

50 傳輸速率 (EDR)

240 米 (800 英尺)

藍牙 4.0

在十二月 2009, 藍牙 4.0 被揭幕 – 經典藍牙的全面三模集成, 高速, 以及創新的藍牙低功耗 (這) 擴大.

關鍵突破是LE. 它可降低功耗高達 90% 透過超低功耗空閒模式,使用專為物聯網設備客製化的最佳化低頻寬協定棧. 這意味著物聯網感測器和小工具可以依靠微型紐扣電池運行數年.

BLE 也提供 3ms 低延遲, 超過100m範圍, AES-128 加密和其他強大的連接功能. 在平行下, 高速可實現高吞吐量, 利用 802.11 收音機, 而經典藍牙仍然向後相容.

這種三模式方法可以優化資料速率方面的多功能性, 即高速,用於 LAN 應用中的高頻寬利用率, 用於超低功耗物聯網的 LE, 和經典用於原始串流媒體應用程序.

藍牙 4.1

引入於 2013, 藍牙 4. 1 是一個主要版本,帶來了圍繞物聯網的改進, 主要是為了為設備帶來無所不在的連接. 基於藍牙構建 4.0 這, 它為大量數據傳輸提供更高的吞吐量,非常適合健身追蹤器等可穿戴設備. 設備可以同時運作 “藍牙智能” 和 “藍牙智慧就緒,” 啟用多裝置連接.

此外, 藍牙 4.1 還引入了與最新蜂窩技術(包括 LTE)共存的支持,以實現平滑的互連. 它整合了基於 IPv6 的雲端同步支持, 滿足物聯網應用需求.

藍牙 4.2

推出於 2014, 藍牙 4.2 透過 IPv6 和 6LoWPAN 協定支援網路連接,邁出了更實質的一步. 這項創新主要使多個藍牙設備能夠透過一個網關終端連接到互聯網或 LAN. 與藍牙相比,它的傳輸速度提高了 2.5 倍,資料包容量提高了 10 倍 4.1.

尤其, 藍牙 4. 2 提高傳輸速率和隱私保護. 新標準中的藍牙訊號只有在獲得用戶許可後才能連接或追蹤設備. 這也讓用戶放心地使用可穿戴設備,無需擔心未經授權的跟踪.

藍牙 5.0

藍牙 5.0 早在 2016, 提供比以前的藍牙標準更高的性能. 它顯著提高了訊息容量 255 位元組 - 8 比藍牙容量多幾倍 4. 2. 因此, 資料傳輸率增加並達到甚至 2 低功耗模式下的 Mbps, 之前價格的兩倍. 此外, 與藍牙相比,通訊範圍擴大了四倍 4.2, 理論上可達300m.

尤其, 它也在藍牙中 5.0 引入室內定位和導航,並在與 WiFi 整合時實現亞米級精度. 進一步發展之前的網路格局和物聯網, 它進一步拓展了更大規模的智慧家庭概念.

藍牙 5.1

藍牙版 5.1 宣佈於 2019, 帶來了突破性的測向和公分級定位服務. 此增強功能旨在藉助藍牙改進定位, 事實證明,這對於室內導航和資產追蹤非常有益, 該地區的一個主要問題.

這些改進包括更好的 GATT 快取和冗餘資料處理以減少功耗, 增強廣播功能, 並與各種無線協定共存. 藍牙 LE 音訊品質和同步也大幅提高.

早期的藍牙,例如 4.x, 還可以處理網狀網路和資產追蹤信標. 然而, 藍牙 5.1 提供更大的多功能性和效率, 它補充了上述應用程序,並且可用於任何其他現有或未來需要更高精度定位和定位的應用程式.

藍牙 5.2

藍牙 5.2 其早期引入於 2020 主要致力於增強音訊體驗. 討論的一些關鍵功能包括 EATT (增強屬性協定), LE 功率控制, CTKD, 和 LE 同步通道支援. 尤其, LE Audio 在連接和廣播模式下啟用立體聲串流媒體,同時增強藍牙音訊效能. 藍牙 Auracase 的整合使用戶見證了高品質音訊輸出的顯著改進.

藍牙 5.3

在 2021, 藍牙 5.3 被釋放, 傳輸效率顯著提升, 安全, 和穩定性. 與藍牙相比 5.2, 藍牙 5.3 減少延遲, 增強抗干擾能力, 並提高了電池壽命. 尤其, 藍牙 5.3 不改變傳輸速度或範圍. 以下是四個關鍵增強功能:

  • 連接子等級
  • 加密密鑰大小控制增強
  • 定期廣告增強
  • 頻道分類增強功能

藍牙 5.4

揭幕於 2023 作為最新的藍牙版本, 藍牙 5. 4 引入了多項增強功能以提供更有效的, 雙向, 低功耗設備的安全通信. 藍牙的一些新方面 5. 4 包括:

  • 定期發布廣告並回复 (PAWR): 透過在子事件中廣播小資料包來實現時間同步的雙向網絡,以促進同步和節能.
  • 加密的廣告數據 (EAD) – 在廣告資料包中啟用資料加密. 只有具有共用會話金鑰的裝置才能解密 EAD,並且可以選擇部分/完全加密以提高安全性.
  • 關貿總協定安全: 允許設備指示安全模式和級別.
  • 廣播編解碼器選擇: 啟用編解碼器選擇以最佳化 BLE 擴充廣告的傳輸.

藍牙版本比較: 藍牙與藍牙低功耗

自版本以來 4.0, 藍牙技術已分為兩個不同的分支: 經典藍牙和低功耗藍牙. 我們目前的無線連接概念主要基於經典藍牙,其應用領域包括無線揚聲器等, 汽車資訊娛樂系統, 和耳機. 工作在 2.4GHz 頻段, 它使設備能夠建立個人區域網路以進行短距離資料傳輸,並已成為將音訊設備與行動平台配對的重要技術.

低功耗藍牙, 另一方面, 代表藍牙生態系內能源效率的重大進步. 顧名思義, BLE 的顯著特徵是其極低的功耗和高度優化的睡眠模式. 雖然它使用與經典藍牙相同的 2.4GHz 頻段, 它使用不同的 FHSS 方案, 資料傳輸速率約為經典藍牙的一半.

術語 BT, MKL62是基於smetech射頻芯片SX1262的射頻模塊, 基本費率, EDR, BR/EDR, 和 AMP 是經典藍牙的代名詞, 而BLE, 低功耗藍牙, 藍牙智能, LE 指的是低功耗藍牙.

雙模藍牙, 顧名思義, 是經典藍牙和藍牙 LE 的結合, 允許設備同時支援兩種標準.

鑑於小號的受歡迎程度, 各種物聯網應用中的低功耗設備和感測器, BLE 已成為物聯網領域更占主導地位的藍牙協議. 所以, 市場見證雙模藍牙晶片的發展. 在本質上, BLE 不只是經典藍牙的精簡版, 而是專為功耗敏感和低數據速率應用而設計的節能無線連接的專門迭代.

藍牙的未來: 期待什麼

自成立以來 1998, 藍牙已經經歷了 26 年的非凡演變, 從版本進展 1.0 到目前的 5.0 發布. 最初專注於音訊, 文字, 和視訊傳輸, 其範圍已逐漸轉向為物聯網應用量身定制的低功耗數據傳輸. 在保持向後相容性的同時, 該技術的標誌, 藍牙在無數物聯網設備中的應用越來越廣泛.

由於 BLE 變體在功率效率和傳輸方面取得了進步, 經典藍牙版本後期停滯 3.0. 最新的主要更新是藍牙 5.0 在 2016, 優化低功耗設備的速度和範圍平衡. 與典型的發布節奏保持一致, 藍牙 6.0 預計在未來幾年內. 主要發展方向預計將集中在物聯網領域, 超越歷史上行動裝置的限制. 藍牙的推出 5.0 網格技術的成熟擴大了物聯網應用的可能性. 雖然藍牙 SIG 尚未發布有關版本的官方聲明 6.0, 這項已有二十多年歷史的技術即將迎來充滿活力的發展軌跡.

藍牙版本的常見問題解答

可以藍牙嗎 3.0 裝置與藍牙建立連接 5.0 設備?

藍牙 3.0 設備本質上無法直接連接到藍牙 5.0 設備, 因為他們使用不同的傳輸協議. 然而, 某些雙模藍牙 4.0 裝置可以同時支援藍牙 3.0 和藍牙 5.0 設備.

可以藍牙嗎 5.0 裝置與藍牙建立連接 3.0 設備?

藍牙 5.0 設備表現出與藍牙的向後相容性 3.0 設備, 從而實現兩者之間的連接. 儘管如此, 這種互通性的代價是傳輸速率降低和功耗增加.

作者——
何尼克
何尼克
缺口, 我們 R 中經驗豐富的專案經理&您還可以使用此產品對貨運集裝箱和存儲庫存進行位置跟踪, 為MOKOSMART帶來豐富的經驗, 曾擔任比亞迪專案工程師. 他在 R 方面的專業知識&D 為他的物聯網專案管理帶來了全面的技能. 具有紮實的背景跨越 6 多年專案管理經驗並獲得 PMP 和 CSPM-2 等認證, 尼克擅長協調銷售工作, 工程, 測試, 和行銷團隊. 曾參與的物聯網設備專案包括Beacons, LoRa設備, 網關, 和智慧插頭.
何尼克
何尼克
缺口, 我們 R 中經驗豐富的專案經理&您還可以使用此產品對貨運集裝箱和存儲庫存進行位置跟踪, 為MOKOSMART帶來豐富的經驗, 曾擔任比亞迪專案工程師. 他在 R 方面的專業知識&D 為他的物聯網專案管理帶來了全面的技能. 具有紮實的背景跨越 6 多年專案管理經驗並獲得 PMP 和 CSPM-2 等認證, 尼克擅長協調銷售工作, 工程, 測試, 和行銷團隊. 曾參與的物聯網設備專案包括Beacons, LoRa設備, 網關, 和智慧插頭.
分享這個帖子
增強您的互聯能力 需要MOKOSmart 物聯網設備解決方案!

A Comprehensive Guide on Different Bluetooth Versions

Table of Contents

The sky is blue, the sea is blue, and apparently Bluetooth is blue too. In 2023, the global shipments of Bluetooth devices reached an astronomical 5.4 billion units! That number just keeps skyrocketing year after year. From transmitting audio and text/images, all the way to streaming video and powering low-energy IoT connections, Bluetooth technology has seriously made life way more convenient for people everywhere. It provides this crucial way for connected devices to communicate data without cables. In this article, we’re going to look back at how Bluetooth versions have evolved from 1.0 to 5.0, and explore the increasing applications. If you’re clueless about this ubiquitous wireless tech, prepare to be enlightened by different Bluetooth version!

What is Bluetooth technology?

Bluetooth is an open global standard for wireless data and voice transfer, which aims at enabling low-cost, short-range wireless connectivity among different electronic devices.

Origins of Bluetooth technology

The origin of Bluetooth technology can be traced back to as early as 1942 when an application for the use of the FHSS (frequency-hopping spread spectrum) was patented by actress Hedy Lamarr alongside composer George Antheil. The idea of this patent is to expand the range of signal frequencies that influence the torpedoes to 88 ones which will make the process more secure and less suffer from interferences. But the military later adapted it for wireless communication during the war, and further development transformed it into the basis of modern wireless technologies such as Bluetooth, WiFi, and 3G.

Bluetooth is named after the medieval Danish king Harald Bluetooth Bluetooth who united the divided kingdoms of Denmark and Norway. This name means integration and interaction of multiple disparate devices. Jim Kardach of Intel proposed the term Bluetooth; The Bluetooth logo is the initials HB, from Harald’s bestowed name and is represented by old Norse script.

A brief history of Bluetooth technology development

  • In 1994, Ericsson started working on what became a low power wireless interface for the phones and their accessories.
  • In 1998, Ericsson, IBM, Intel, Nokia and Toshiba formed the “Bluetooth Special Interest Group” to establish standards for short-range radio.
  • 1999 saw the Bluetooth 0.7-1.0 spec releases designating 2.4GHz and defining core protocols.
  • In the last half of 1999, Microsoft, Motorola, and others joined the promotional efforts, sparking global Bluetooth adoption. The alliance has reached over 1,500 members by the year 2000.
  • 2001: 1. 1 IEEE 802.15.1.
  • 2003: 1. 2 introduced adaptive frequency hopping.
  • 2004: 2. 1 adopted EDR, with a maximum transfer rate of 3Mbps.
  • 2007: 2. 1 Secure paring/connection, introduced NFC.
  • 2009: 3. 0 integrated with WiFi, 24Mbps speed.
  • 2010: 4.0 opted for Bluetooth low energy.
  • 2013: 4. 1 support for LTE.
  • 2014: 4. 2 support IPv6 and 6LoWPAN.
  • 2016: 5. 0 doubled speed, extended range.
  • 2019: 5. 1 enhanced location, power management.
  • 2020: 5. 2 supported LE Audio, EATT.
  • 2021: 5. 3 added connection subrating for frequencies.
  • 2023: 5. 4 added PAwR and EAD
  • By 2023, the Bluetooth SIG had more than 40, 000 members.

Bluetooth has evolved and upgraded through multiple different Bluetooth versions with enhanced wireless communication performance and broader application scope.

Classic Bluetooth versions: Bluetooth 1.0 – 3.0

Version Year of release Max transmission range Max range
Bluetooth 1.0 1999 732.2 kbit/s 10 m (33 ft)
Bluetooth 1.1 2001 732.2 kbit/s 10 m (33 ft)
Bluetooth 1.2 2003 1 Mbps 10 m (33 ft)
Bluetooth 2.0 2004 2.1 Mbps 30 m (100 ft)
Bluetooth 2.1 2007 2.1 Mbps 30 m (100 ft)
Bluetooth 3.0 2009 24 Mbps 30 m (100 ft)

Bluetooth 1.0

In July 1999, the Bluetooth SIG officially introduced the Bluetooth 1.0 specification, advancing the technology to a commercially viable stage. The Bluetooth 1.0 standard primarily targeted point-to-point wireless connections such as wireless communication between mobile and computing devices, computers and peripherals, mobile and headsets, among others.

The original Bluetooth 1.0 spec laid out the basic features, but it didn’t give enough detailed instructions on how to actually put it into practice. This made it really tough for different devices to work well together. Because of these interoperability issues, Bluetooth 1.0 couldn’t live up to the hype and didn’t get picked up as widely as hoped across the tech world.

Bluetooth 1.1

The non-official 1.1 version was introduced in October 2000, extending functionality to support point-to-multipoint connections and addressing issues present in version 1.0. The official 1.1 specification was subsequently released in March 2001. To ensure secure communication, Bluetooth employs encryption where devices exchange keys during connection establishment to authenticate identities. Communication cannot occur if key verification fails. Bluetooth 1.1 resolved the contention issue of devices vying for master-slave roles in version 1.0 by clearly defining the pairing process.

It standardized the use of 79 channels in the 2.4GHz frequency hopping scheme across all regions. Additionally, slave devices could report supported channel counts and packet sizes to allow transmission parameter adjustment.

Bluetooth 1.2

In November 2003, Bluetooth SIG released the Bluetooth 1.2 specification. As Bluetooth 1.1 was vulnerable to interference by 802.11b wireless LANs, version 1.2 introduced AFH (Adaptive Frequency Hopping) to reduce interference with Bluetooth devices and other wireless communication equipment. Moreover, Bluetooth 1.2 devices that extended the ESCO (Enhanced Synchronous Connection-Oriented) link type for voice/audio transmission were also identified.  Although providing the possibility of faster connection, it was still compatible with Bluetooth 1.1 devices.

Bluetooth 2.0

Bluetooth 2.0, which was released in November 2004, has introduced the EDR (Enhanced Data Rate) technology, which is a major step forward from version 1.2. EDR increased the data transfer rates up to 3Mbps and trebled bandwidth compared to the preceding version. This made the transfer of large files to be twice as low power as that of Bluetooth 1.2. Bluetooth 2.0 supported full-duplex communication, which enabled the transmission of both voice and data at the same time. It also extended the multi-device connection capability.

Bluetooth 2.1

In March 2007, at CTIA Wireless 2007, the Bluetooth 2.1+EDR standard emerged. A key feature was NFC integration for simplified pairing by transmitting passwords without manual input when devices were in close proximity. The Sniff Subrating feature conserved power by extending the signal confirmation interval between devices from 0.1s to 0.5s. Additionally, Secure Simple Pairing (SSP) improved the pairing experience while enhancing usability and security.

Bluetooth 3.0

In 2009, the Bluetooth SIG introduced Bluetooth 3.0 + High Speed (HS), maintaining version 2.0 feature compatibility. The key addition was an optional High Speed extension leveraging the IEEE 802.11PAL (Protocol Adaptation Layer) to support up to 24Mbps throughput  – 8x faster than Bluetooth 2.0’s 3Mbps maximum.

The core innovation was Alternate MAC/PHY (AMP) – enabling the Bluetooth stack to dynamically utilize the appropriate radio for a given use case. This brought some improvement in power optimization with the EPC (Enhanced Power Control) and offloading larger transfer to 802. 11’s lower idle mode. Moreover, the emergence of UCD (Unidirectional Connectionless Data) helped improve broadcast features.

Bluetooth low energy versions: Bluetooth 4.0 – 5.4

Version Release Year Max transmission speed Max range
Bluetooth 4.0 2009 1 Mbps (LE)

3 Mbps (EDR)

60 m (200 ft)
Bluetooth 4.1 2013 1 Mbps (LE)

3 Mbps (EDR)

60 m (200 ft)
Bluetooth 4.2 2014 1 Mbps (LE)

3 Mbps (EDR)

60 m (200 ft)
Bluetooth 5.0 2016 2 Mbps (LE)

50 Mbps (EDR)

240 m (800 ft)
Bluetooth 5.1 2019 2 Mbps (LE)

50 Mbps (EDR)

240 m (800 ft)
Bluetooth 5.2 2020 2 Mbps (LE)

50 Mbps (EDR)

240 m (800 ft)
Bluetooth 5.3 2021 2 Mbps (LE)

50 Mbps (EDR)

240 m (800 ft)
Bluetooth 5.4 2023 2 Mbps (LE)

50 Mbps (EDR)

240 m (800 ft)

Bluetooth 4.0

In December 2009, Bluetooth 4.0 was unveiled – a comprehensive tri-mode integration of Classic Bluetooth, High Speed, and the innovative Bluetooth Low Energy (LE) extension.

The key breakthrough was LE. It reduces power consumption by up to 90% via an ultra-low power idle mode using an optimized low bandwidth protocol stack tailored for IoT devices. This meant IoT sensors and gadgets could run for years on a tiny coin cell battery.

BLE also offered 3ms low latency, over 100m range, AES-128 encryption and other robust connectivity capabilities. In parallel, High Speed allowed for high throughput, utilizing 802.11 radios, while Classic Bluetooth remained backward compatible.

This tri-mode approach allowed for optimization versatility in terms of data rates, namely High Speed for the high bandwidth utilization in LAN applications, LE for the ultra-low power IoT, and Classic for the original streaming application.

Bluetooth 4.1

Introduced in 2013,  Bluetooth 4. 1 was a major release that brought improvements revolving around IoT, mainly to bring ubiquitous connectivity to devices. Building on Bluetooth 4.0 LE, it offers higher throughput for transfer of bulk data which is perfect for wearables such as fitness trackers. Devices can simultaneously operate as “Bluetooth Smart” and “Bluetooth Smart Ready,” enabling multi-device connections.

Furthermore, Bluetooth 4.1 also introduced support for coexistence with the latest cellular technologies including LTE to enable smooth interconnectivity. It incorporated IPv6-based cloud synchronization support, addressing IoT application requirements.

Bluetooth 4.2

Launched in 2014, Bluetooth 4.2 introduced a more substantial step by supporting internet connection through IPv6 and 6LoWPAN protocols. This innovation primarily enabled several Bluetooth devices to connect to the internet or LAN through one gateway terminal. It delivered up to 2.5x faster transfer speeds and 10x larger packet capacity compared to Bluetooth 4.1.

Notably, Bluetooth 4. 2 boosted transfer rates and privacy protection. Bluetooth signals in the new standard can only connect or track a device after receiving permission from the user. This also reassures users of the ability to use wearables fearlessly without worrying about unauthorized tracking.

Bluetooth 5.0

Bluetooth 5.0 was launched early in 2016, offering enhanced performances than the previous Bluetooth standards. It significantly improved the message capacity to 255 bytes – 8 times more than the capacity of Bluetooth 4. 2. As a result, the data transfer rate increased and went up to even 2 Mbps in low power mode, twice the earlier rates. In addition, the communication range has been extended four times as far compared to Bluetooth 4.2, in theory up to 300m.

Notably, it was also in Bluetooth 5.0 that indoor positioning and navigation were introduced and allowed for sub-meter accuracy when integrated with WiFi. Furthering the development of the previous internet landscape and IoT, it branched further into the concept of the smart home on a larger scale.

Bluetooth 5.1

Bluetooth version 5.1 was announced in 2019, which brought groundbreaking direction finding and centimeter-level positioning services. This enhancement was aimed at improving localization with the help of Bluetooth, which proved very beneficial in indoor navigation and tracking of assets, a key concern in the area.

These improvements included better GATT caching and handling of redundant data to cut down on power usage, augmented broadcast functionality, and coexistence with various wireless protocols. Bluetooth LE audio quality and synchronization were also increased by a large measure.

The earlier Bluetooths such as the 4.x, could also handle mesh networking and the beacons for asset tracking. However, Bluetooth 5.1 offers greater versatility and efficiency, which complements the aforementioned applications and can be useful for any other existing or future applications requiring higher accuracy of positioning and localization.

Bluetooth 5.2

Bluetooth 5.2 with its early introduction in 2020 was mainly focused on enhancing the audio experience. Some of the key features discussed were EATT (Enhanced Attribute Protocol), LE power control, CTKD, and LE Isochronous channel support. Notably, LE Audio enabled stereo streaming in connected and broadcast modes while enhancing Bluetooth audio performance. The integration of Bluetooth Auracase enabled users to witness a significant improvement in high-quality audio outputs.

Bluetooth 5.3

In 2021, Bluetooth 5.3 was released, featuring significant enhancements in transmission efficiency, security, and stability. Compared to Bluetooth 5.2, Bluetooth 5.3 offers reduced latency, enhanced interference resistance, and improved battery life. Notably, Bluetooth 5.3 does not alter the transmission speed or range. The following are the four key enhancements:

  • Connection sub rating
  • Encryption key size control enhancements
  • Periodic advertising enhancements
  • Channel classification enhancements

Bluetooth 5.4

Unveiled in 2023 as the latest Bluetooth version, Bluetooth 5. 4 introduced several enhancements to provide more effective, bidirectional, secure communication for low-power devices. Some of the new aspects of Bluetooth 5. 4 include:

  • Periodic Advertising with Responses (PAwR): Enabling time-synchronized bidirectional networks by broadcasting small data packets within sub-events to facilitate synchronization and power savings.
  • Encrypted Advertising Data (EAD) – Enabling data encryption within advertising packets. Only devices with the shared session key can decrypt EAD and the option for partial/full encryption is available to increase security.
  • LE GATT Security: Allowing devices to indicate security mode and level.
  • Broadcast Codec Selection: Enabling codec selection for optimized transmission of BLE extended advertisements.

Bluetooth versions comparison: Bluetooth vs Bluetooth low energy

Since version 4.0, Bluetooth technology has diverged into two distinct branches: Bluetooth Classic and Bluetooth Low Energy. The Classic Bluetooth upon which our present idea of wireless connectivity is primarily built has applications in areas such as wireless speakers, car infotainment systems, and headphones. Operating in the 2.4GHz band, it enables the devices to establish personal area networks for short-range data transmission and has become an essential technology for pairing audio devices with mobile platforms.

Bluetooth Low Energy, on the other hand, represents a significant stride in energy efficiency within the Bluetooth ecosystem. As its name suggests, BLE’s salient feature is its remarkably low power consumption and highly optimized sleep mode. While it utilizes the same 2.4GHz band as Classic Bluetooth, it uses a different FHSS scheme, resulting in a data transmission rate of approximately half that of Classic Bluetooth.

The terms BT, BR, Basic Rate, EDR, BR/EDR, and AMP are synonymous with Classic Bluetooth, while BLE, Bluetooth Low Energy, Bluetooth Smart, and LE refer to low-power Bluetooth.

Dual-mode Bluetooth, as the name suggests, is a combination of both classic Bluetooth and Bluetooth LE, allowing devices to support both standards simultaneously.

Given the popularity of small, low-power devices and sensors in various IoT applications, BLE has emerged as a more dominant Bluetooth protocol in the IoT domain. Therefore, the market has witnessed the development of dual-mode Bluetooth chips. In essence, BLE is not just a lite version of Classic Bluetooth, but a specialized iteration of energy-efficient wireless connectivity designed for power-sensitive and low data rate applications.

The future of Bluetooth: what to expect

Since its inception in 1998, Bluetooth has undergone a remarkable 26-year evolution, progressing from version 1.0 to the current 5.0 release. Initially focused on audio, text, and video transmission, its scope has gradually shifted toward low-power data transmission tailored for IoT applications. While maintaining backward compatibility, a hallmark of the technology, Bluetooth has seen increasing adoption across a myriad of IoT devices.

As the BLE variant advanced in power efficiency and transmission, the classic Bluetooth version stagnated post-version 3.0. The latest major update was Bluetooth 5.0 in 2016, optimizing speed and range balance for low-power devices. Aligning with typical release cadences, Bluetooth 6.0 is anticipated within the next few years. The primary development vector is projected to concentrate on the IoT domain, transcending historical mobile device confines. The rollout of Bluetooth 5.0 and maturation of mesh technology have expanded possibilities for prospective IoT applications. While the Bluetooth SIG has yet to issue official statements concerning version 6.0, this over-two-decade-old technology is poised for a vibrant trajectory.

FAQs about Bluetooth versions

Can a Bluetooth 3.0 device establish a connection with a Bluetooth 5.0 device?

Bluetooth 3.0 devices are inherently incapable of directly connecting to Bluetooth 5.0 devices, as they utilize disparate transmission protocols. However, certain dual-mode Bluetooth 4.0 devices can simultaneously support Bluetooth 3.0 and Bluetooth 5.0 devices.

Can a Bluetooth 5.0 device establish a connection with a Bluetooth 3.0 device?

Bluetooth 5.0 devices exhibit backward compatibility with Bluetooth 3.0 devices, thereby enabling connectivity between the two. Nevertheless, this interoperability comes at the cost of reduced transmission rates and heightened power consumption.

Written by ——
Nick He
Nick He
Nick, a seasoned project manager in our R&D department, brings a wealth of experience to MOKOSMART, having previously served as a project engineer at BYD. His expertise in R&D brings a well-rounded skill to his IoT project management. With a solid background spanning 6 years in project management and get certifications like PMP and CSPM-2, Nick excels in coordinating efforts across sales, engineering, testing, and marketing teams. The IoT device projects he has participated in include Beacons, LoRa devices, gateways, and smart plugs.
Nick He
Nick He
Nick, a seasoned project manager in our R&D department, brings a wealth of experience to MOKOSMART, having previously served as a project engineer at BYD. His expertise in R&D brings a well-rounded skill to his IoT project management. With a solid background spanning 6 years in project management and get certifications like PMP and CSPM-2, Nick excels in coordinating efforts across sales, engineering, testing, and marketing teams. The IoT device projects he has participated in include Beacons, LoRa devices, gateways, and smart plugs.
Share this post
Empower Your Connected Need with MOKOSmart loT Device Solutions!