什么是物联网信标技术?

什么是物联网信标技术?

物联网信标技术从字面上意味着无线电信标, 类似于灯塔的光. 原始意义上, 它是用于导航的移动或固定广播电台, 例如在航空或运输中. 无线电信标发出可用于确定位置的无线电波. 在IT环境中, 信标用于各个领域. 信标可以是小型蓝牙发射器, WLAN中的状态消息, 或跟踪邮件或网站中的像素, 以及更多.

苹果的iBeacon和其他解决方案

众所周知的实现 蓝牙信标 是苹果的iBeacon. 它是基于蓝牙低功耗技术的制造商特定协议,该协议已在 2013. 从iOS 7 操作系统, iPhone或iPad等Apple设备支持iBeacon.

iBeacon通常不会将推送通知发送到接收设备. 他们不收集或保存数据,而是发送有关其自身身份或状态的信息. 由于使用了蓝牙低功耗 (博美), 该设备非常节能. iBeacon模块可达到的最大范围 30 米和, 例如, 在智能手表或游戏手柄中.

另一个IoT信标技术实现是Google的Eddystone. Eddystone支持Android和iOS设备. Radius Networks提供了另一种称为AltBeacons的开放标准.

网络信标是网站或电子邮件的跟踪像素

物联网信标技术也用于无线无线电技术之外. 网络信标是跟踪像素的替代术语. 它是网站或电子邮件中的小型隐形图形.

网络信标通常只有 1 X 1 像素点. 在这些像素的帮助下, 可以检查是否打开了电子邮件或访问了网站. 调用跟踪像素并从服务器加载后, 服务注册此事件. 对于用户本人来说不明显,已经请求了像素. 在后台他看不见该过程. 然而, 服务器的操作员可以查看请求特定Web信标的频率和数量. 可以使用网络信标实现以下功能:

•在网站上创建访客的活动档案
•确定操作系统, 网站访问者或电子邮件收件人的终端设备的浏览器版本和其他属性
•确定网站访问者或电子邮件收件人的IP地址
•通过其IP地址确定网站访问者或电子邮件收件人的大概位置
•确定电子邮件的打开速度和时间

物联网信标技术在WLAN中的功能

在WLAN中, 路由器或接入点定期发送一个小的数据包,称为信标. 此软件包是一种状态消息,其中包含有关网络名称的信息 (服务集标识符; SSID), 可能的传输速率, 以及使用的加密类型. 信标使客户端可以轻松地与WLAN接入点建立连接. 您只需要一些其他信息,例如密码. WLAN的接收质量也可以使用信标进行监控.

但是信标还可以具有其他功能. 在IT环境中, 信标也经常在各个领域使用. 可能很短, 在WLAN中定期发送数据包, 小, 基于蓝牙的发射器, 或跟踪邮件或网站中的像素等等. 苹果还开发了一项名为iBeacon的专有技术.

一些付款服务使用信标实现自动付款,而无需触摸收银机. 物联网信标技术在物联网中扮演重要角色 (物联网). 借助无线电技术, 联网对象可以相互交换信息. 信标潜力巨大, 特别是在工业生产和工业领域 4.0. 该技术可用于识别工件, 机器, 或人和智能化的网络生产流程. 移动应用程序和平板电脑或智能手机可用于控制和监视过程.

如何配置信标以及如何最好地安装它们?

现在有四个信标标准: 苹果公司的iBeacon, Google的Eddystone, UriBeacon, 和Altbeacon. iBeacon仍占最大份额, 但Eddystone因其有趣的性能而稳步获得市场份额. 在今天的博客文章中, 我们要解决的问题是,iBeacons可以影响哪些设置,以及如何最好地将beacon附加到一般位置.

信标协议分发报告

1. 屏蔽

信标发出的信号可以用各种材料屏蔽. 这些可以是木制的, 具体, 或金属墙, 例如. 安装在房间的支柱上时,也必须考虑到这一点. 信标的最佳地点在附近 2.5 至 4 高度米. 在较低的高度, 人们可以屏蔽信号. 合适的地方在建筑物的墙壁上和天花板的横梁上. 一个好的替代方案也可以安装在灯座中, 因为它们均匀分布在整个建筑物中,可以为信标供电. 重要的是,在发射器之间尽可能没有干扰物.

2. 干扰物

客户经常问我们,信标是否会对无线电网络或技术设备造成干扰,以及是否, 反过来, 信标信号可能会被他们伪造. 我们可以对第一种情况一清二楚. 信标不会影响其他信号,医疗设备也不会受到干扰. 然而, 如果将信标安装在具有大量WiFi信号的房间中 (例如在交易会上), 因为BLE和WiFi共享相同的频率范围,所以可能会发生干扰 (2.4 GHz的).

3. IBEACON的配置

iBeacon包含许多关键指标并具有多个配置选项. 可以使用制造商的智能手机应用程序或软件查看和编辑此数据.

UUID: 通常,UUID将信标的成员身份发送到上层群组 (例如. “属于机场XY”). 来自此运算符的所有信标具有相同的UUID,因此可以被分配.

重大的: 这表明几个信标属于哪个组. 例如, 这可能是终端机中的所有信标 1 在法兰克福机场. 使用目的也可以有所区别, 例如, “位置确定车” 和 “卖家导航” 在汽车经销店.

次要: 标识其确切位置记录在数字地图上的单个信标.

TX Power是在距信标一米的校准过程中测得的信号强度 (RSSI值 – 接收信号强度指示). 确定并永久输入. 设定的发射功率会影响位置确定的准确性. 更高的信号强度意味着更高的能耗. TX功率以dBm为单位测量. 分贝毫瓦 (分贝) 是基于1mW的分贝功率水平. 例如高传输功率 -59 分贝, 而 -81 dBm相当低.

传输间隔: 传输间隔指定时间间隔 (例如. 1000 毫秒) 信标发出信号. 此处同样适用: 传输间隔越大, 能源消耗越高 (大约两倍的传输频率. 能源消耗翻倍). 但这也意味着可以更快,更及时地确定职位.

您如何在家中使用iBeacon和IoT信标技术?

自我思考的iPhone: 当您坐在办公桌前, Safari浏览器打开; 当您在厨房打开冰箱时, 弹出购买清单,直到今天和晚上,在您舒适的沙发上仍需完成, 用于操作Apple TV的远程应用程序将立即启动.

借助所谓的iBeacons,这是可能的. 这个单词 “信标” 是Apple的创作,并于六月在WWDC上首次提及 2013. 基本上, 这意味着支持蓝牙LE的小型硬件按钮 (蓝牙 4.0). 这些信标通过蓝牙将信息发送到移动设备. 然而, 这些信标不能单独工作, 他们需要支持iBeacon技术和IoT Beacon技术的适当应用程序. MOKOSmart几周前展示了它: 对于已下载MOKOBeacon应用程序的用户, 用户一进入展厅的相关热点,就定期在iPhone显示屏上显示有关工作和职业的新闻和信息。.

iBeacons与NFC

它与NFC相似. 这项技术曾在世界移动大会上使用. iOS设备, 然而, 不支持NFC,而且苹果似乎不会很快改变任何东西. 那些经常参加技术展览会的人几乎无法否认它: 配件制造商越来越依赖蓝牙 4.0, 当NFC落后时. NFC在移动支付领域具有优势. 但是不像NFC, iBeacons能够提供一个完整的房间,并拥有自己的房间 “网络”. 当顾客进入商店时, 他们的智能手机应用会告知他们当前的特别优惠. 另一个优势是iBeacons消耗的电量很少. 如果您相信某些制造商, 电池可持续使用两年.

在家的信标

在十二月 2013, 苹果配备 254 通过iBeacons在美国的Apple商店, 但是在德国,还有很长的路要走. 已经有一些供应商出售iBeacons,通过Placed,还有一个应用程序甚至可以在家里使用iBeacons. 前提条件是您的iOS设备支持蓝牙 4.0. 这只是iPhone 4S的情况. 的iPad 4, iPad Air, 和带有或不带有视网膜显示屏的iPad Mini支持此平板电脑标准. 您还必须允许相关应用访问位置服务.

一世如果您现在在沙发上放置了合适的iBeacon, 冰箱, 或桌子, 只要您在距相关对象一米的半径内,便会触发某些操作. 放置支持的应用程序,例如MOKOBeacon, 远程, 计时器, 奇妙清单 (待办事项清单和任务应用), 苹果浏览器, 和梦幻日历应用程序. 将iBeacon连接到家具后, 设置其UUID或插入从iBeacon制造商处获得的UUID. 然后,定义在此iBeacon附近应处于活动状态的应用程序或URL. 例如, 当您在连接到沙发的iBeacon上时,Apple TV的远程应用程序会自动启动.

您还可以开发自己的与相应的iBeacon一起使用的应用程序. MOKOSmart提供IoT信标技术和 信标SDK.

与专家交谈

What Is An IoT Beacon Technology?

What Is An IoT Beacon Technology?

IoT beacon technology literally means radio beacon, similar to the light of a lighthouse. In the original sense, it is a mobile or fixed radio station that is used in navigation, for example in aviation or shipping. The radio beacon emits radio waves that can be used to determine positions. In the IT environment, beacons are used in various areas. Beacons can be small Bluetooth transmitters, status messages in a WLAN, or tracking pixel in a message or on a website, and much more.

Apple’s iBeacon and other solutions

A well-known implementation of the Bluetooth beacon is Apple’s iBeacon. It is a manufacturer-specific protocol based on Bluetooth Low Energy introduced in 2013. From the iOS 7 operating system, Apple devices such as the iPhone or the iPad support iBeacon.

iBeacons generally do not send push notifications to receiving devices. They do not collect or save data but send information about their own identity or status. Thanks to the use of Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), the devices work extremely energy-saving. iBeacon modules achieve ranges of up to 30 meters and are used, for example, in smartwatches or gaming pads.

Another IoT beacon technology implementation is Eddystone from Google. Eddystone supports both Android and iOS devices. Radius Networks offers an alternative open standard called AltBeacons.

The web beacon is a tracking pixel for websites or emails

IoT beacon technology is also used outside of wireless radio technologies. The web beacon is an alternative term for a tracking pixel. It is a small invisible graphic on a website or in an email.

The web beacon is often only the minimum size of 1 x 1 pixel. With the help of these pixels, it is possible to check whether an email was opened or a website was accessed. As soon as the tracking pixel is called up and loaded from a server, a service registers this event. It is not apparent to the user himself that the pixel has been requested. The process is invisible to him in the background. However, the operator of the server can see how often and how many users request a particular web beacon. The following functions can be implemented using web beacon:

• Creation of a movement profile of a visitor on a website
• Determining the operating system, the browser version and other properties of the end device of a website visitor or email recipient
• Determine the IP address of a website visitor or e-mail recipient
• Determine the approximate location of the website visitor or e-mail recipient via his IP address
• Determine the opening rate and time of opening of email

The function of an IoT beacon technology in WLAN

In a WLAN, a router or an access point sends a small data packet called Beacon at regular intervals. This package is a type of status message that contains information about the network name (Service Set Identifier; SSID), possible transmission rates, and the type of encryption used. The Beacon enables clients to easily establish a connection with the WLAN access point. You only need some additional information such as the password. The reception quality of a WLAN can also be monitored using the beacon.

But beacons can also have other functions. In the IT environment, beacons are also often used in various areas. It can be short, regularly sent data packets in a WLAN, small, Bluetooth-based transmitters, or tracking pixels in a message or on a website and much more. Apple has also developed a proprietary technology called iBeacon.

Some payment services use beacons to implement automatic payments without touching the cash register. IoT beacon technology plays an important role in the Internet of Things (IoT). With the help of radio technology, networked objects can exchange information with each other. Beacons have great potential, particularly in the area of ​​industrial production and Industry 4.0. The technology can be used to identify workpieces, machines, or people and intelligently network production processes. Mobile applications and tablets or smartphones can be used to control and monitor the processes.

How do you configure beacons and how do you best install them?

There are now four beacon standards: iBeacon from Apple, Google’s Eddystone, UriBeacon, and Altbeacon. iBeacons still make up the lion’s share, but Eddystone is steadily gaining market share due to its interesting properties. In today’s blog article, we deal with the question of what settings can be influenced by iBeacons and how best to attach beacons in general to the location.

Report on the distribution of beacon protocols

1. SHIELDING

The signals from beacons can be shielded by various materials. These can be wooden, concrete, or metal walls, for example. This must also be taken into account when installing on pillars in the room. The best place for beacons is around 2.5 to 4 meters in height. At a lower altitude, people can shield the signals. Favorable places are on walls in the building and on beams on the ceiling. A good alternative can also be mounted in lamp holders, as these are evenly distributed throughout the building and can supply the beacon with electricity. It is important that there are as far as possible no interfering objects between the transmitters.

2. INTERFERENCES

We are often asked by customers whether beacons cause interference in radio networks or technical devices and whether, conversely, beacon signals can be falsified by them. We can give the all-clear for the first case. Beacons do not affect other signals and medical devices also remain undisturbed. However, if beacons are installed in a room with a large number of WiFi signals (for example at a trade fair), interference can occur because BLE and WiFi share the same frequency range (2.4 GHz).

3. CONFIGURATION OF IBEACON

iBeacons carry a number of key figures and have several configuration options. This data can be viewed and edited using a smartphone app or software from the manufacturer.

UUID: the UUID generally transmits the beacon’s membership to an upper group (e.g. “belongs to airport XY”). All beacons from this operator have the same UUID and can thus be assigned.

Major: This indicates which group several beacons belong to. For example, this could be all beacons in Terminal 1 at Frankfurt Airport. The purpose of use can also be differentiated, for example, “position determination cars” and “navigation for sellers” in a car dealership.

Minor: Identifies individual beacons whose exact position is recorded on a digital map.

TX Power is the signal strength measured in a calibration process one meter from the beacon (RSSI value – received signal strength indication). It is determined and entered permanently. The set transmission power can influence the accuracy of the position determination. Higher signal strength means higher energy consumption. TX Power is measured in dBm. Decibels milliwatt (dBm) is the power level in decibels based on 1mW. High transmission power is for example -59 dBm, whereas -81 dBm is rather low.

Transmission interval: The transmission interval specifies the time intervals (e.g. 1000 milliseconds) the beacon sends out signals. The same applies here: the higher the transmission interval, the higher the energy consumption (double transmission frequency approx. Double energy consumption). But it also means that the position can be determined faster and more up-to-date.

How can you use iBeacons and IoT beacon technology in the house? 

An iPhone that thinks for itself: As soon as you sit down at your desk, the Safari browser opens; when you open the refrigerator in the kitchen, the list of purchases pops up that is still to be done today and in the evening when you are comfortable Sofa sets, the remote app for operating Apple TV starts immediately.

This is possible with so-called iBeacons. The word “iBeacons” is an Apple creation and was first mentioned at WWDC in June 2013. Basically, it means small hardware buttons that support Bluetooth LE (Bluetooth 4.0). These beacons send information to the mobile device via Bluetooth. However, these beacons do not work alone, they require an appropriate app that supports iBeacon technology and IoT beacon technology. MOKOSmart showed it a few weeks ago: For those who had downloaded the MOKOBeacon app, news and information about jobs and careers appeared regularly on the iPhone display as soon as the user was at the relevant hotspots in the exhibition halls.

iBeacons versus NFC

It works similarly with NFC. This technology was used at the Mobile World Congress. iOS devices, however, don’t support NFC and it doesn’t look like Apple will change anything anytime soon. Those who visit technology fairs more often can hardly deny it: accessory manufacturers are increasingly relying on Bluetooth 4.0, while NFC is falling behind. NFC has the edge in mobile payments. But unlike NFC, iBeacons are able to provide a complete room with its own “network”. When the customer enters a shop, their smartphone app informs them about current special offers. Another advantage is that iBeacons consume very little electricity. If you believe some manufacturers, the battery should last up to two years.

iBeacons for at home

In December 2013, Apple equipped 254 Apple stores in the USA with iBeacons, but in Germany that is still a long way off. There are already some providers who sell iBeacons and with Placed there is also an app with which you can even use iBeacons at home. The prerequisite is that your iOS devices support Bluetooth 4.0. This is only the case from the iPhone 4S. The iPad 4, iPad Air, and iPad Mini with and without retina display support this standard for tablets. You must also allow the relevant apps to access location services.

If you now place an appropriate iBeacon on the sofa, refrigerator, or desk, certain actions will be triggered as soon as you are within a radius of one meter from the relevant object. Placed supports apps such as MOKOBeacon, Remote, the Timer, Wunderlist (to-do lists and task app), Safari, and the Fantastical calendar app. After you have attached the iBeacon to the piece of furniture, set its UUID or insert the UUID that you got from the iBeacon manufacturer. Then you define the apps or URLs that should be active in the vicinity of this iBeacon. For example, the remote app for Apple TV starts automatically when you are at the iBeacon that is attached to your sofa.

You can also develop your own apps that work with the corresponding iBeacon. MOKOSmart provides IoT beacon technology and beacon SDK.