ما هي التكنولوجيا وراء تردد LoRa

نطاق تردد لورا

يستخدم LoRa CSS (طيف انتشار النرد) التشكيل الذي يستخدم طريقة نشر التردد كطريقة تشكيل. يتم إرسال ما يسمى نبضات الغرد كرموز, التي تزيد أو تنقص في تردد LoRa بشكل مستمر بمرور الوقت. ثم يتم تحقيق نقل البيانات من خلال التسلسل المتسلسل لنبضات الغرد هذه.

تردد لورا

خصائص خاصة

منذ LoRa يعمل في نطاقات التردد ISM (433 ميغاهيرتز, 868 ميغا هرتز و 915 ميغاهيرتز), قدرة الإرسال المشعة محدودة. من أجل الحصول على نطاق راديو أكبر من أنواع التشكيل التقليدية مثل لتحقيق FSK (تردد التحول القفل), تم تحسين حساسية جهاز الاستقبال بشكل كبير باستخدام LoRa. لا يزال بإمكان مستقبل LoRa تلقي وفك تشفير إشارة LoRa مفيدة حتى 20 ديسيبل أقل من مستوى الضوضاء, مما ينتج عنه حساسية جهاز استقبال بحد أقصى -149 ديسيبل. مقارنة بأقصى حساسية FSK تبلغ تقريبًا. -125 ديسيبل ميلي واط إلى -130 ديسيبل, تقدم LoRa تحسنًا كبيرًا. مع جهاز استقبال FSK, لا يمكن فك تشفير الإشارة بنجاح إلا إذا كانت الإشارة المفيدة تقريبية.

قوة التردد والإشارة LoRa

بفضل الخاصية التي لا يزال بإمكان LoRa تلقي إشارة مفيدة حتى 20 ديسيبل أقل من مستوى الضوضاء, قوة التداخل الراديوي أفضل بكثير من قوة FSK. تعمل أنظمة FSK بشكل صحيح فقط إذا كانت إشارة التداخل على الأقل 10 أضعف ديسيبل من الإشارة المفيدة. في أفضل الأحوال, لا يزال بإمكان أنظمة LoRa استقبال الإشارة المفيدة إذا كانت إشارة التداخل 20 أقوى ديسيبل من الإشارة المفيدة.

محددات

من الرسم أعلاه يمكنك أن ترى أن LoRa يمكن أن تتلقى حوالي 30 إشارات أضعف من ديسيبل من FSK. ومع ذلك, هناك نوعان من القيود التي تجعل هذا الاختلاف الكبير نسبيًا إلى حد ما.

• أول, يعد تشكيل LoRa نطاق عريض مقارنة بتشكيل FSK, مما يعني أن مستوى ضوضاء مستقبل LoRa أعلى بشكل عام من مستوى مستقبل FSK. على وجه التحديد, مضاعفة عرض النطاق الترددي يزيد من مستوى الضوضاء بمقدار 3 ديسيبل.
• ثانيا, يمكن LoRa فقط تلقي إشارة مفيدة تصل إلى 20 dB أقل من مستوى الضوضاء بمعدلات بيانات بطيئة جدًا تبلغ 0.5 كيلوبايت / س. بمجرد زيادة معدل البيانات, إما أن تزداد نسبة الإشارة إلى الضوضاء السلبية نحو الصفر أو يجب زيادة عرض النطاق الترددي أكثر, مما يؤدي بدوره إلى زيادة مستوى الضوضاء.

قياس المقارنة بين LoRa و FSK

لمعرفة مدى جودة LoRa حقًا, يجب إجراء مقارنة مباشرة بين LoRa و FSK. لهذا الغرض, لدينا أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال FSK القياسية المستخدمة سابقا (CC1020 و CC1101) مقارنة بالبيانات من LoRa / جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال FSK SX1261.

جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال تعديل  

الحساسية القصوى وفقًا لورقة البيانات

معدل البيانات RX- عرض النطاق
CC1020 FSK -118 ديسيبل 2.4 كيلو بت / ثانية 12.5 كيلو هرتز
CC1101 FSK -116 ديسيبل 0.6 كيلو بت / ثانية 58 كيلو هرتز
SX1261 FSK -125 ديسيبل 0.6 كيلو بت / ثانية 4 كيلو هرتز
SX1261 لورا -149.2 ديسيبل 0.02 كيلو بت / ثانية 8 كيلو هرتز

حسب المعلومات الواردة في أوراق البيانات, يحقق LoRa حساسية قصوى أفضل بمقدار 24 ديسيبل على الأقل من أفضل جهاز إرسال واستقبال FSK (SX1261). مقارنة بأجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال FSK القديمة (CC1020 و CC1101), الحساسية القصوى حتى 31 أو 33 أفضل ديسيبل. حيث يمكن افتراض أنه يمكن مضاعفة نطاق الراديو لكل 10 حساسية أكثر ديسيبل, أ 4 إلى 8 مرات ينبغي أن يكون المدى الراديوي ممكنًا مع LoRa مقارنة بـ FSK.

ومع ذلك, من الملاحظ أيضًا أن الحد الأقصى من حساسية LoRa يتحقق مع معدل بيانات بطيء للغاية يبلغ فقط 0.02 كيلوبايت / س. من أجل الحصول على مباشر, مقارنة ذات مغزى بين أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال المختلفة, يتم تحديد حساسية جميع أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال بنفس معدل البيانات. بحسب الشركة المصنعة Semtech, لورا يجب أن تحقق حوالي 7 إلى 10 حساسية أكثر ديسيبل بنفس معدل البيانات مثل FSK.

أعطت قياساتنا النتائج التالية:

معدل البيانات حساسية
CC1020 CC1101 SX1261 SX1261
FSK FSK ديسيبل FSK لورا
1.2 كيلو بت / ثانية -117 ديسيبل -112 ديسيبل -123 ديسيبل -129 ديسيبل
2.4 كيلو بت / ثانية -117 ديسيبل -111 ديسيبل -121 ديسيبل -126 ديسيبل
4.8 كيلو بت / ثانية -114 ديسيبل -109 ديسيبل -118 ديسيبل -123 ديسيبل
9.6 كيلو بت / ثانية -112 ديسيبل -107 ديسيبل -116 ديسيبل -120 ديسيبل

يحقق جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال SX1261 مع تعديل LoRa 4 – 6 حساسية أكثر ديسيبل من تعديل FSK. بالمقارنة مع CC1020 8 – 11 ديسيبل وبالمقارنة مع CC1101 13 – 17 يتم تحقيق المزيد من الحساسية ديسيبل. من اللافت للنظر أنه كلما تم اختيار معدل بيانات أقل, يمكن تحقيق زيادة الحساسية مع LoRa.

يُظهر منظر آخر إمكانات توفير الطاقة في LoRa. من أجل تحقيق نفس الحساسية مثل FSK, تقريبا 4 مرات يمكن استخدام معدل البيانات مع LoRa. وهكذا يصبح نفس برقية الراديو 4 مرات أقصر وينخفض ​​استهلاك الطاقة أيضًا بمعامل 4.

خاتمة:

كما هو الحال مع جميع أجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال اللاسلكية, حساسية LoRa القصوى -149 يتم تحقيق dBm فقط عند أدنى معدل بيانات. معدل بيانات LoRa هذا تقريبي فقط. 0.02 كيلوبايت / s وبالتالي فهو غير قابل للاستخدام في العديد من التطبيقات. ومع ذلك, إذا كان من الممكن استخدام معدلات البيانات المنخفضة هذه, 4 أضعاف مدى الراديو ممكن من الناحية النظرية مقارنة بأجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال FSK الحديثة.

إذا تم زيادة معدل بيانات LoRa إلى 1.2 كيلو بت / ق ل 10 كيلو بت / س, LoRa يحقق تقريبًا. 4-6 حساسية أكثر ديسيبل مقارنة بأجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال FSK الحديثة. مقارنة بأجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال FSK الأقدم مثل CC1101 أو CC1020, يمكن حتى مضاعفة نطاق الراديو أو مضاعفته ثلاث مرات مع LoRa.

هناك خيار مثير للاهتمام لتوفير الطاقة في التطبيقات حيث كانت حساسية FSK الحالية كافية. إذا تم تحقيق نفس الحساسية مع LoRa, يمكن زيادة معدل البيانات بمعامل 4 مقارنة FSK, حيث يمكن أيضًا تقليل استهلاك الطاقة بمعامل 4.

لنا, تمثل تقنية LoRa بديلاً مثيرًا للاهتمام للتطبيقات ذات معدلات بيانات تصل إلى 10 كيلوبايت / س, حيث يمكن زيادة نطاق الراديو بشكل كبير مقارنة بأجهزة الإرسال والاستقبال الأقدم. من الأمور التي تهمنا بشكل خاص إمكانية الاتصال بشبكة LoRaWAN, لأن هذا يعني أنه يمكن توصيل تطبيقات إنترنت الأشياء بالإنترنت عمليًا في أي مكان.

مع وحدة LoRa الخاصة بنا “TRX433-70” نحن على استعداد لمشاريع LoRa المبتكرة في المستقبل.

البث اللاسلكي مع LoRa

قراءات العداد, يمكن نقل أوامر التبديل والمعلومات الأخرى من وحدة التركيز إلى جهاز التوجيه والعودة بعدة طرق. إذا كان النقل السلكي غير ممكن أو مكلف للغاية, يمكن أن يكون الإرسال اللاسلكي باستخدام LoRa بديلاً للقراءة عن بُعد.

معيار راديو LoRa

LoRa لتقف على المدى الطويل, بمعنى آخر. عالي (مذياع) النطاق وهو معيار راديو بديل للتقنيات المعروفة مثل UMTS أو LTE. في كثير من البلدان, لقد أثبتت LoRa نفسها بالفعل كأساس لمعيار الاتصال فيما يسمى بإنترنت الأشياء (إنترنت الأشياء), من آلة إلى آلة (M2M) الاتصالات ولتطبيقات الصناعة والمدن الذكية.

معيار راديو LoRa, مثل تقنيات الراديو الأخرى, يستخدم نطاقات التردد LoRa المجانية من نطاقات ISM الخالية من الترخيص (صناعي, العلمية والطبية). في أوروبا, هذه هي العصابات في 433 و 868 نطاق ميغاهيرتز. باستخدام إجراء خاص بالراديو, انتشار ما يسمى التردد, التكنولوجيا تكاد تكون محصنة ضد التدخل. النطاق بين المرسل والمستقبل بين 2 و 15 كم, حسب البيئة والمنطقة العمرانية. بسبب الحساسية العالية لـ -137 ديسيبل, يمكن تحقيق اختراق عالي للمباني. تخترق إشارات الراديو عمق داخل المباني والأقبية. خاصة في المعسكرات حيث تضعف الأغطية المعدنية للكرفانات والمنازل المتنقلة في كثير من الأحيان من قوة إشارة WLAN, الإرسال اللاسلكي مع LoRa متفوق هنا. معدل البيانات في LoRa بين 0.3 و 50 كيلوبايت / س.

طلبات الحصول على LoRa

يستخدم LoRa بشكل أساسي في التطبيقات التي يتم فيها نقل القليل جدًا من البيانات عبر مسافة طويلة بطريقة موفرة للطاقة للغاية. عادة ما يتم قياس هذه البيانات القيم, إشارات الحالة أو القيم التي تم التلاعب بها.

الاختلافات بين WLAN, لورا وراديو محمول

تم تصميم WLAN والراديو المحمول لنقل كميات كبيرة من البيانات. نطاقات قصيرة نسبيا مقبولة. لورا, من ناحية أخرى, هو الأمثل لنقل كميات صغيرة من البيانات عبر مسافات كبيرة. يوضح الجدول التالي بعض الاختلافات بين معايير الراديو المختلفة.

 

WLAN لورا خلوي
رن <100 م 2.000-3.000(مدينة)

>10.000 م (بلد)

<300 م (مدينة)

<10.000 م (بلد)

 

ماكس. معدل البيانات

6.933 ميغابت / ثانية 50 كيلوبت / ثانية 1.000 ميغابت / ثانية
التكاليف متوسط منخفض عالي جدا
تردد LoRa 2.4 غيغاهرتز

5 غيغاهرتز

60 غيغاهرتز

433 ميغاهيرتز

868 ميغاهيرتز

800 ميغاهيرتز

900 ميغاهيرتز

1.800 ميغاهيرتز

2.100 ميغاهيرتز

2.600 ميغاهيرتز

ماكس. انتقال السلطة 1.000 ميغاواط 25 ميغاواط 20-50 ث (المحطة الأساسية)

200 ميغاواط (الأجهزة الطرفية)

LoRaWAN (شبكة واسعة المدى)

شبكات WAN منخفضة الطاقة (شبكات LPWAN) هي مفاهيم الشبكة لإنترنت الأشياء (إنترنت الأشياء) والتواصل من آلة إلى آلة (M2M). تتميز شبكات LPWAN بحقيقة أنها يمكن أن تغطي مسافات تصل إلى 50 كم وتتطلب القليل من الطاقة. هناك العديد من الأساليب الفنية لتحقيق شبكات LPWAN. واحد من ETSI: ETSI GS LTN, الأسماء الأخرى LoRaWAN, عديم الوزن و RPMA, والتي تعني الوصول العشوائي متعدد المراحل.

بحيث لا تتأثر المسافة التي يمكن جسرها كثيرًا بسبب توهين المساحة الحرة, بعض مفاهيم LPWAN المذكورة تستخدم الترددات في نطاقات ISM في 433 ميغا هرتز و 868 ميغاهيرتز. قليلون أيضًا يعملون في نطاق ISM في 2.4 غيغاهرتز.

فمثلا, فيما يتعلق SigFox باسم LoRaWAN (شبكة واسعة النطاق بعيدة المدى), يستخدم نطاق ISM في 868 ميغاهيرتز (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية 915 ميغاهيرتز) في أوروبا. مدى المسافة التي يمكن جسرها قد انتهى 5 كم في المنطقة الحضرية وأكثر 15 كم خارج المدينة. هناك أيضًا أجهزة إرسال واستقبال لاسلكية في نطاق تردد LoRa 2.4 غيغاهرتز مع نطاق 10 يمكن جسر كم. انتقال LoRa هو مزيج من Chirp Spread Spectrum (CSS) والراديو المحدد بالبرمجيات (حقوق السحب الخاصة). الميزة الرئيسية هي أن الإشارات التي تصل 20 لا يزال من الممكن اكتشاف ديسيبل أقل من مستوى الضوضاء. يدعم مفهوم LoRaWAN الاتصال ثنائي الاتجاه, التنقل والخدمات المستندة إلى الموقع.

القيم المميزة LoRaWAN
 

نطاق الترددات

 

فرقة ISM, 433 ميغاهيرتز, 868 ميغاهيرتز (أنا), 915 ميغاهيرتز (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)

تعديل غرد انتشار الطيف (CSS)
القناة البريطانية 8*125 كيلو هرتز (أنا),

64*125كيلو هرتز,8*125كيلو هرتز(الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)

 

حجم العبوة

 

يحدده المستخدم

ورقة البيانات لأعلى / لأسفل 300 بت / ثانية 50 كيلوبت / ثانية (أنا)

900 بت / ثانية إلى 100 كيلوبت / ثانية(الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)

 

طوبولوجيا

 

طوبولوجيا النجوم

 

مسافة

يصل إلى 5 كم في المناطق المبنية

يصل إلى 15 كم في المنطقة الريفية

 

الأجهزة الطرفية متصلة بمحطة أساسية, والذي بدوره يتلقى المعلومات المشفرة من العمود الفقري عبر TCP / IP وبروتوكول SSL.
للتأكد من أن عمر بطارية المكونات النهائية أطول ما يمكن, تتم إدارة جميع معدلات البيانات وإشارات خرج التردد اللاسلكي بواسطة شبكة LoRaWAN ويتم التحكم في المكونات النهائية عبر معدل بيانات قابل للتكيف (ADR). هناك ثلاث فئات للأجهزة الطرفية: يمكن لأجهزة الفئة A الاتصال ثنائي الاتجاه ولديها نافذة إرسال مخطط لها في الوصلة الصاعدة, تحتوي أجهزة الفئة B أيضًا على نافذة إرسال مخطط لها في الوصلة الهابطة ونافذة الإرسال للأجهزة من الفئة C مفتوحة باستمرار. تم توحيد تقنية LoRaWAN بواسطة تحالف LoRa.

LoRaWan – إطار عمل للشبكات اللاسلكية

LoRaWan هي مواصفات وتصف إطار عمل للشبكات اللاسلكية. يتم استخدامه في الشبكات مع حركة مرور بيانات قليلة, على سبيل المثال في شبكات الاستشعار. LoRaWan (LongRangeWideAreaNetwork) هو ما يسمى LPWAN (شبكة واسعة النطاق منخفضة الطاقة) بروتوكول. توضح هذه المقالة الترددات التي تستخدمها LoRaWan والفئات المتاحة للأجهزة الطرفية.

يختلف تردد LoRa في مناطق مختلفة من العالم. ومع ذلك, من الضروري هنا الحصول على مزيد من المعلومات قبل بدء تشغيل جهاز LoRa من أجل ضبط التردد الصحيح. يوضح الجدول التالي الترددات الصحيحة لكل بلد أو قارة:

يتم التعامل مع LoRaWan أيضًا مثل طوبولوجيا النجوم. تقوم البوابات بإعادة توجيه الرسائل من الأجهزة الطرفية إلى خادم وصول محدد. ترتبط البوابات عبر الخادم القياسي عبر اتصالات الإنترنت القياسية.

الأجهزة ثنائية الاتجاه
هناك ثلاث فئات رئيسية ثنائية الاتجاه يتم التعامل معها بواسطة End:

فئة أ

تنشأ بيانات الوصلة الصاعدة دائمًا من الجهاز النهائي. يتبع رسالة الإرسال 2 نوافذ استقبال قصيرة لرسائل الوصلة الهابطة. يمكن أيضًا تضمين رسائل الوصلة الهابطة هذه في رسائل التأكيد وكذلك لمعلمات الجهاز. نظرًا لأن الاتصال بين المحطة والبوابة سيكون فقط من المحطة, قد يكون هناك وقت انتظار بين معلمات الجهاز الجديدة المفصلة وتنفيذ الجهاز.

بين الاتصالات وقت الإرسال الفعلي, يمكن لأجهزة الفئة A وضع وحدة LoRa الخاصة بها بالكامل في وضع توفير الطاقة. سيؤدي هذا إلى تغيير كفاءة الطاقة.

الصف ب

الصف ب, البعض الآخر إلى نوافذ خطأ الفئة أ, تصبح نوافذ استقبال إضافية. تتم مزامنة أجهزة الفئة ب عبر منارات يتم إرسالها دوريًا. تستخدم هذه المنارات للتواصل, ونوافذ الاستقبال الأخرى تفتح في أوقات أخرى. الخسارة هي أنه يمكن تحديد وقت الاستجابة مسبقًا, فقدان استهلاك الطاقة كرقم مكون. ومع ذلك, يظل استهلاك الطاقة منخفضًا بدرجة كافية للتطبيقات التي تعمل بالبطاريات.

فئة ج

تقلل الفئة C بشكل ملحوظ زمن انتقال الوصلة الهابطة, نظرًا لأن نافذة الاستلام الخاصة بالجهاز النهائي تُسمع دائمًا طالما أن الجهاز نفسه لا يعطي أية رسائل. لهذا السبب, يمكن للخادم الموثوق به بدء إرسال الوصلة الهابطة. يعد تغيير الوقت بين الفئتين A و C مهمًا بشكل خاص في العقود القانونية التي تعمل بالبطاريات, فمثلا, “البرامج الثابتة على الهواء” التحديثات.

منطقة تردد لورا
أوروبا 863-870 ميغاهيرتز

433 ميغاهيرتز

نحن 902-928 ميغاهيرتز
الصين 470-510 ميغاهيرتز

779-787 ميغاهيرتز

الاسترالية 915-928 ميغاهيرتز
هندي 865-867 ميغاهيرتز
آسيا 433 ميغاهيرتز
شمال امريكا 915 ميغاهيرتز

 

تحدث إلى خبير

What is the Technology Behind LoRa Frequency

LoRa frequency

LoRa uses the CSS (Chirp Spread Spectrum) modulation which uses a frequency spreading method as a modulation technique. So-called chirp pulses are sent as symbols, which increase or decrease in LoRa frequency continuously over time. The data transmission is then realized by the sequential sequence of these chirp pulses.

LoRa frequency

Special properties

Since LoRa works in the ISM frequency bands (433 MHz, 868 MHz and 915 MHz), the radiated transmission power is limited. In order to have a larger radio range than conventional modulation types such as To achieve FSK (Frequency Shift Keying), the receiver sensitivity has been significantly improved with LoRa. The LoRa receiver can still successfully receive and decode a useful LoRa signal up to 20 dB below the noise level, which results in a receiver sensitivity of a maximum of -149 dBm. Compared to the maximum FSK sensitivity of approx. –125 dBm to -130 dBm, LoRa offers a significant improvement. With the FSK receiver, the signal can only be successfully decoded if the useful signal is approx.

LoRa-Frequency-and-signal strength

Thanks to the property that LoRa can still successfully receive a useful signal up to 20 dB below the noise level, the robustness to radio interference is significantly better than that of FSK. FSK systems only work correctly if the interference signal is at least 10 dB weaker than the useful signal. In the best case, LoRa systems can still receive the useful signal if the interference signal is 20 dB stronger than the useful signal.

Limitations

From the graphic above you can see that LoRa can receive about 30 dB weaker signals than with FSK. However, there are two restrictions that somewhat relativize this big difference.

• First, the LoRa modulation is broadband than the FSK modulation, which means that the noise level of the LoRa receiver is generally higher than that of the FSK receiver. Specifically, doubling the bandwidth increases the noise level by 3 dB.
• Secondly, LoRa can only receive a useful signal up to 20 dB below the noise level at very slow data rates of ≤ 0.5 kbit / s. As soon as the data rate is increased, either the negative signal-to-noise ratio increases further towards zero or the bandwidth has to be increased further, which in turn increases the noise level.

Comparison measurement between LoRa and FSK

To find out how good LoRa really is, a direct comparison between LoRa and FSK should be carried out. For this purpose, our previously used standard FSK transceivers (CC1020 and CC1101) are compared with the data from the LoRa / FSK transceiver SX1261.

TransceiverModulation 

Max sensitivity according to the datasheet

Data rateRX- bandwidth
CC1020FSK-118 dBm2.4 kBit/s12.5 kHz
CC1101FSK-116 dBm0.6 kBit/s58 kHz
SX1261FSK-125 dBm0.6 kBit/s4 kHz
SX1261LoRa-149.2 dBm0.02 kBit/s8 kHz

According to the information from the datasheets, LoRa achieves at least a 24dB better maximum sensitivity than with the best FSK transceiver (SX1261). Compared to the old FSK transceivers (CC1020 and CC1101), the maximum sensitivity is even 31 or 33 dB better. Since it can be assumed that the radio range can be doubled for every 10 dB more sensitivity, a 4 to 8 times the radio range should be possible with LoRa compared to FSK.

However, it is also noticeable that the maximum LoRa sensitivity is achieved with an extremely slow data rate of only 0.02 kbit / s. In order to obtain a direct, meaningful comparison between the different transceivers, the sensitivity of all transceivers is determined at the same data rate. According to Semtech’s manufacturer, LoRa would have to achieve about 7 to 10 dB more sensitivity at the same data rate as FSK.

Our own measurements have given the following results:

Data rateSensitivity
CC1020CC1101SX1261SX1261
FSKFSK dBmFSKLoRa
1.2 kBit/s-117 dBm-112 dBm-123 dBm-129 dBm
2.4 kBit/s-117 dBm-111 dBm-121 dBm-126 dBm
4.8 kBit/s-114 dBm-109 dBm-118 dBm-123 dBm
9.6 kBit/s-112 dBm-107 dBm-116 dBm-120 dBm

The SX1261 transceiver with LoRa modulation achieves 4 – 6 dB more sensitivity than with FSK modulation. In comparison to the CC1020 8 – 11 dB and in comparison to the CC1101 13 – 17 dB more sensitivity is achieved. It is striking that the lower the data rate is chosen, the more sensitivity gain can be achieved with LoRa.

Another view shows the energy-saving potential of LoRa. In order to achieve the same sensitivity as with FSK, approximately 4 times the data rate can be used with LoRa. The same radio telegram thus becomes 4 times shorter and the energy consumption also drops by a factor of 4.

Conclusion:

As with all radio transceivers, the maximum LoRa sensitivity of -149 dBm is only achieved at the lowest data rate. This data rate for LoRa is only approx. 0.02 kbit / s and is therefore unusable for many applications. However, if such low data rates can be used, 4 times the radio range is theoretically possible compared to modern FSK transceivers.

If the LoRa data rate is increased to 1.2 kBit / s to 10 kBit / s, LoRa achieves approx. 4-6 dB more sensitivity compared to modern FSK transceivers. Compared to older FSK transceivers such as the CC1101 or CC1020, the radio range can even be doubled or tripled with LoRa.

There is an interesting energy-saving option in applications where the current FSK sensitivity was sufficient. If the same sensitivity is to be achieved with LoRa, the data rate can be increased by a factor of 4 compared to FSK, whereby the energy consumption can also be reduced by a factor of 4.

For us, LoRa technology represents an interesting alternative for applications with data rates up to 10 kbit / s, since the radio range can be increased massively compared to the older transceivers. Of particular interest to us is the possibility of connecting to the LoRaWAN network, as this means that IoT applications can be connected to the Internet practically anywhere.

With our LoRa module “TRX433-70” we are ready for future innovative LoRa projects.

Radio transmission with LoRa

The meter readings, switching commands and other information can be transmitted from the concentrator module to the router and back in a variety of ways. If the wired transmission is not possible or too expensive, radio transmission with LoRa can be an alternative for remote reading.

The LoRa radio standard

LoRa stands for Long Range, i.e. high (radio) range and is an alternative radio standard to the known technologies such as UMTS or LTE. In many countries, LoRa has already established itself as the basis for a communication standard in the so-called Internet of Things (IoT), for machine-to-machine (M2M) communication and for industry and smart city applications.

The LoRa radio standard, like other radio technologies, uses the free LoRa frequency bands from the license-free ISM bands (Industrial, Scientific and Medical). In Europe, these are the bands in the 433 and 868 MHz range. By using a special radio procedure, the so-called frequency spread, the technology is almost immune to interference. The range between transmitter and receiver is between 2 and 15 km, depending on the environment and built-up area. Due to the high sensitivity of -137 dBm, high penetration of buildings can be achieved. The radio signals penetrate deep into the interior of buildings and basements. Especially at campsites where the metallic covers of the caravans and mobile homes often weaken the signal strength of WLAN, radio transmission with LoRa is superior here. The data rate at LoRa is between 0.3 and 50 kbit / s.

Applications for LoRa

LoRa is mainly used in applications in which very little data is to be transmitted over a long distance in a very energy-saving manner. These data are usually measured values, status signals or manipulated values.

Differences between WLAN, LoRa and mobile radio

WLAN and mobile radio are designed to transmit large amounts of data. Relatively short ranges are accepted. LoRa, on the other hand, is optimized for the transmission of small amounts of data over large distances. The following table shows some differences between the different radio standards.

 

WLANLoRACellular
Rang<100 m2.000-3.000(city)

>10.000 m (country)

<300 m (city)

<10.000 m (country)

 

Max. data rate

6.933 Mbit/s50 kbit/s1.000 Mbit/s
CostsMediumLowVery high
LoRa Frequency2.4 GHz

5 GHz

60 GHz

433 MHz

868 MHz

800 MHz

900 MHz

1.800 MHz

2.100 MHz

2.600 MHz

Max. transmission power1.000 mW25 mW20-50 w (Base station)

200 Mw (Terminal devices)

LoRaWAN (long range wide area network)

Low Power WANs (LPWANs) are network concepts for the Internet of Things (IoT) and machine-to-machine communication (M2M). LPWANs are characterized by the fact that they can cover distances of up to 50 km and require very little energy. There are several technical approaches to realizing the LPWANs. One from ETSI: ETSI GS LTN, other names are LoRaWAN, Weightless and RPMA, which stands for Random Phase Multiple Access.

So that the bridgeable distance is not impaired too much by the free space attenuation, some of the LPWAN concepts mentioned use frequencies in ISM bands at 433 MHz and 868 MHz. Few also work in the ISM band at 2.4 GHz.

For example, as regards SigFox as LoRaWAN (Long Range Wide Area Network), it uses the ISM band at 868 MHz (USA 915 MHz) in Europe. The bridgeable distance range is over 5 km in the urban area and over 15 km outside the city. There are also radio transceivers in the LoRa frequency range of 2.4 GHz with which a range of 10 km can be bridged. LoRa transmission is a combination of Chirp Spread Spectrum (CSS) and Software Defined Radio (SDR). A key advantage is that signals that are up to 20 dB below the noise level can still be detected. The LoRaWAN concept supports bidirectional communication, mobility and location-based services.

Characteristic valuesLoRaWAN
 

Frequency range

 

ISM band, 433 MHz, 868 MHz (EU), 915 MHz (USA)

ModulationChirp spread spectrum (CSS)
Channel British8*125 KHz (EU),

64*125KHz,8*125KHz(USA)

 

Package size

 

Determined by the user

Datasheet Up/Down300 bit/s 50 kbit/s (EU)

900 bit/s bis 100 kbit/s(USA)

 

topology

 

Star topology

 

distance

Up to 5 km in built-up areas

Up to 15 km in the rural area

 

The end devices are connected to a base station, which in turn receives the information encrypted from a backbone via TCP / IP and the SSL protocol.
To ensure that the battery life of the end components is as long as possible, all data rates and the RF output signals are managed by the LoRaWAN network and the end components are controlled via an adaptive data rate (ADR). There are three-terminal device classes: Class A devices can communicate bidirectionally and have a planned transmission window in the uplink, class B devices also have a planned transmission window in the downlink and the transmission window for class C devices is continuously open. The LoRaWAN technology is standardized by the LoRa Alliance.

LoRaWan – Framework for wireless networks

LoRaWan is a specification and describes a framework for wireless networks. It is used in networks with little data traffic, for example in sensor networks. LoRaWan (LongRangeWideAreaNetwork) is a so-called LPWAN (Low Power Wide Area Network) protocol. This article shows the frequencies used by LoRaWan and the available classes of end devices.

LoRa frequency varies in different regions of the world. However, it is necessary here to get more information before starting up a LoRa device in order to set the correct frequency. The following table shows the correct frequencies for each country or continent:

LoRaWan is also treated like a star topology. Gateways forward messages from the end devices to a specific access server. The gateways are connected via the standard server via standard internet connections.

Bidirectional devices
There are three main bidirectional classes handled by End:

Class A

The uplink data always originate from the end device. The uplink message is followed by 2 short reception windows for downlink messages. These downlink messages can also be included for confirmation messages as well as for device parameters. Since the communication between the terminal and the gateway will only ever be from the terminal, there may be a waiting time between the detailed new device parameters and the implementation of the terminal.

Between the actual transmission time contacts, Class A devices can put their LoRa module completely in an energy-saving mode. This will change energy efficiency.

Class B

Class B, others to class A’s fault windows, become further reception windows. Class B devices are synchronized via cyclically sent beacons. These beacons are used to communicate, and other reception windows are open at other times. The loss is that the latency can be determined in advance, the loss of energy consumption as a component number. However, the energy consumption remains low enough for battery-operated applications.

Class C

Class C significantly reduces the latency for the downlink, since the receiving window of the end device is always heard as long as the device itself does not give any messages. For this reason, the trusted server can start a downlink transmission. A time change between class A and C is particularly important in battery-powered legal contracts, for example, “firmware-over-the-air” updates.

RegionThe LoRa Frequency
Europe863-870 MHz

433 MHz

US902-928 MHz
China470-510 MHz

779-787 MHz

Australian915-928 MHz
Indian865-867 MHz
Asia433 MHz
North America915 MHz