什么是LORA频率背后的技术

LoRa frequency range

LORA使用CSS (线性调频扩频) 其使用频率扩展方法作为调制技术调制. 所谓啁啾脉冲的发送符号, 其增加或在Lora频率随时间连续减小. 的数据传输,然后通过这些啁啾脉冲的顺序序列来实现.

洛拉频率

特殊属性

由于LORA工作在ISM频段 (433 兆赫, 868 MHz和 915 兆赫), 的辐射传输功率被限制. 为了具有比传统的调制类型,例如为了实现FSK较大无线电范围 (频移键控), 接收灵敏度已经与洛拉被显著改善. 该LORA接收器仍然可以成功接收和解码的有用信号洛拉最多 20 分贝低于噪声电平, 其结果在最大的接收器灵敏度 -149 dBm的. 相比大约最大FSK灵敏度. -125 dBm到 -130 dBm的, LORA提供显著改善. 随着FSK接收器, 信号只能被成功地解码,如果有用信号是大约.

LORA-频率和信号强度

由于这样的特性:LORA仍然可以成功地接收有用信号达 20 分贝低于噪声电平, 稳健性对无线电干扰显著好于FSK的. FSK系统只有当干扰信号至少是正常工作 10 分贝比有用信号较弱. 在最好的情况下,, LORA系统仍然可以接收有用信号,如果干扰信号 20 分贝比有用信号强.

限制

从上面的图片可以看到,劳拉可以收到 30 分贝比FSK较弱的信号. 然而, 有两个限制,这一定程度上相对化这个大的区别.

•第一, 的洛拉调制比FSK调制宽带, 这意味着接收机LORA的噪声电平通常比该FSK接收机的更高是. 特别, 带宽加倍增加了由噪声电平 3 D b.
• 其次, LORA只能接收有用信号达 20 分贝以下以非常缓慢的数据传输速率的噪音水平≤ 0.5 千位 / 小号. 一旦数据速率增加, 无论是负信噪比进一步增大朝零或带宽具有进一步增加, 这又增加了噪声电平.

洛拉和FSK之间比较测量

为了找出真正的洛拉有多好, LORA和FSK之间的直接比较,应进行. 以此目的, 我们以前使用的标准FSK收发器 (CC1020和CC1101) 与来自LORA的数据进行比较 / FSK收发器SX1261.

收发器调制 

根据在数据表最大灵敏度

数据速率RX- 带宽
CC1020FSK-118 dBm的2.4 kbit / s的12.5 千赫
CC1101FSK-116 dBm的0.6 kbit / s的58 千赫
SX1261FSK-125 dBm的0.6 kbit / s的4 千赫
SX1261洛拉-149.2 dBm的0.02 kbit / s的8 千赫

据从数据表中的信息, 洛拉实现至少24dB的比最好FSK收发器更好最大灵敏度 (SX1261). 相比老FSK收发器 (CC1020和CC1101), 最高感光度为甚至 31 要么 33 分贝更好. 因为可以假定无线电范围可被加倍为每个 10 分贝更灵敏度, 一种 4 至 8 倍于无线电范围应尽可能与洛拉相比FSK.

然而, 它也是明显的,最大灵敏度洛拉用的仅极慢数据速率来实现 0.02 千位 / 小号. 为了获得直接的, 不同的收发器之间的有意义的比较, 所有收发信机的灵敏度以相同的数据速率来确定. 据Semtech的制造商, 劳拉必须达到约 7 至 10 分贝以相同的数据速率如FSK更灵敏度.

我们自己的测量已经给出了以下结果:

数据速率灵敏度
CC1020CC1101SX1261SX1261
FSKFSK dBm的FSK洛拉
1.2 kbit / s的-117 dBm的-112 dBm的-123 dBm的-129 dBm的
2.4 kbit / s的-117 dBm的-111 dBm的-121 dBm的-126 dBm的
4.8 kbit / s的-114 dBm的-109 dBm的-118 dBm的-123 dBm的
9.6 kbit / s的-112 dBm的-107 dBm的-116 dBm的-120 dBm的

所述SX1261收发器洛拉调制实现 4 – 6 分贝比用FSK调制灵敏度更. 相较于CC1020 8 – 11 dB和相比于CC1101 13 – 17 分贝更灵敏度实现. 令人吃惊的是,降低被选择的数据速率, 越灵敏度增益可以与洛拉可以实现.

另一种观点表示LORA的节能潜力. 为了达到相同的灵敏度与FSK, 大约 4 倍数据速率可以与洛拉使用. 因此,相同的无线电报变得 4 时间短,能耗也由倍下降 4.

结论:

如同所有的无线电收发器, 的最大灵敏度洛拉 -149 dBm的仅在最低数据率达到. ,劳拉此数据率只有约. 0.02 千位 / S和因此对于许多应用程序无法使用. 然而, 如果这种低数据速率可以使用, 4 倍相比现代FSK收发器的无线范围在理论上是可能.

如果LORA的数据速率提高到 1.2 千比特 / s到 10 千比特 / 小号, 洛拉达到约. 4-6 dB的敏感度相比,现代FSK收发器. 相比于旧的FSK收发器,如CC1101 CC1020或, 无线电范围甚至可以加倍或三倍洛拉.

有在当前FSK灵敏度足以应用一个有趣的节能选项. 如果相同的敏感度是对与洛拉来实现, 数据速率可以增加的因子 4 相比于FSK, 由此也可以通过一个因子降低了能耗 4.

为我们, LORA技术代表与数据传输速率高达应用一个有趣的选择 10 千位 / 小号, 因为无线电范围可大规模相比老收发器来增加. 我们特别感兴趣的是连接到网络LoRaWAN的可能性, 因为这意味着,物联网的应用程序可以连接到互联网的任何地方.

随着我们的LORA模块 “TRX433-70” 我们已经准备好为未来的创新LORA项目.

无线传输与LORA

仪表读数, 切换命令及其它信息可以从集中器模块到路由器和背面以各种方式来发送. 如果有线传输是不可能或过于昂贵, 与洛拉无线电传输可以是用于远程读取的替代.

该LORA无线电标准

LORA代表长距离, 即. 高 (无线电) 范围,并且是替代的无线电标准的已知技术,例如UMTS或LTE. 在很多国家, 劳拉已经确立了它作为物联网的所谓的互联网通信标准的基础 (物联网), 机器对机器 (M2M) 通信和工业和智能城市的应用.

该LORA无线电标准, 像其他无线技术, 使用从免许可证的ISM频段免费LORA频段 (产业, 科学和医疗). 在欧洲, 这些都是在乐队 433 和 868 MHz范围内. 通过使用一种特殊的无线电程序, 所谓扩频, 该技术几乎不受干扰. 发射器和接收器之间的范围为 2 和 15 千米, 取决于环境和建成区. 由于高灵敏度 -137 dBm的, 建筑物的普及率高,可以实现. 无线电信号深穿透建筑物和地下室的内部. 特别是在营地其中大篷车和活动房屋的金属盖往往削弱WLAN的信号强度, 与洛拉无线电传输优于这里. 在洛拉数据速率是间 0.3 和 50 千位 / 小号.

,劳拉应用

洛拉主要用于在其中非常少的数据将被以一种非常节能的方式在长距离传输应用中. 这些数据通常是测量值, 状态信号或操纵值.

WLAN之间的差异, LORA和移动无线

WLAN和移动无线电被设计为传输大量数据的. 相对较短的范围内被接受. 洛拉, 另一方面, 为少量数据的长距离传输优化. 下表显示了不同的无线电标准之间存在一些差异.

 

WLAN洛拉细胞的
Rang<100 米2.000-3.000(市)

>10.000 米 (国家)

<300 米 (市)

<10.000 米 (国家)

 

马克斯. 数据速率

6.933 Mbit / s的50 kbit / s的1.000 Mbit / s的
成本介质很高
洛拉频率2.4 千兆赫

5 千兆赫

60 千兆赫

433 兆赫

868 兆赫

800 兆赫

900 兆赫

1.800 兆赫

2.100 兆赫

2.600 兆赫

马克斯. 发送功率1.000 毫瓦25 毫瓦20-50 w ^ (基站)

200 MW (终端设备)

LoRaWAN (长范围的广域网)

低功耗广域网 (LPWANs) 对于物联网的网络概念 (物联网) 和机器对机器通信 (M2M). LPWANs的特点是一个事实,即他们可以掩盖的距离 50 公里,只需要很少的能量. 有几种技术方法来实现LPWANs. 一位来自ETSI: ETSI GS LTN, 其他名称均为LoRaWAN, 失重和RPMA, 它代表随机相位多址.

这样的桥接距离不是由自由空间衰减受损太多, 一些LPWAN概念提到在ISM频带使用频率在 433 MHz和 868 兆赫. 也很少有工作的ISM频段的 2.4 千兆赫.

例如, 至于SigFox为LoRaWAN (长距离广域网), 它使用ISM频段的 868 兆赫 (美国 915 兆赫) 在欧洲. 所述桥接距离范围超过 5 公里的市区及以上 15 城外公里. 也有在的LORA频率范围的无线电收发信机 2.4 GHz的其中一个范围的 10 公里,可桥接. 洛拉传输是线性调频扩频的组合 (CSS) 和软件定义无线电 (SDR). 一个关键的优势是信号是高达 20 分贝低于噪声电平仍然可以被检测到的. 该LoRaWAN概念支持双向通信, 移动性和基于位置的服务.

特征值LoRaWAN
 

频率范围

 

ISM频段, 433 兆赫, 868 兆赫 (美国), 915 兆赫 (美国)

调制线性调频扩频 (CSS)
英国频道8*125 千赫 (美国),

64*125千赫,8*125千赫(美国)

 

包装尺寸

 

由用户决定

数据表上/下300 比特/秒 50 kbit / s的 (美国)

900 比特/秒最多 100 kbit / s的(美国)

 

拓扑

 

星型拓扑结构

 

距离

取决于 5 公里,建成区

取决于 15 公里的农村地区

 

终端设备被连接到的基站, 这反过来又接收从经由TCP骨干加密的信息 / IP和SSL协议.
为了确保端组件的电池寿命是尽可能长的, 所有数据速率和RF输出信号由LoRaWAN网络管理和端组件经由一个自适应数据速率来控制 (ADR). 有三端设备类: A类设备能够双向通信,并且在上行链路中的计划的传输窗口, B类设备还具有在下行链路中的计划的传输窗口和用于C类设备的传输窗口是连续打开. 该LoRaWAN技术是由LORA标准联盟.

LoRaWan – 框架无线网络

LoRaWan是说明书和描述了一种用于无线网络的框架. 它与小数据流量的网络中使用, 例如,在传感器网络中. LoRaWan (LongRangeWideAreaNetwork) 是所谓的LPWAN (低功耗广域网) 协议. 本文示出了由LoRaWan所使用的频率和终端设备的可用类.

LORA频率在世界不同地区而异. 然而, 有必要在这里以设置正确的频率启动一个LORA设备之前,以获取更多信息. 下表显示了每个国家或大陆正确的频率:

LoRaWan也像对待一个星型拓扑结构. 网关转发从端设备的消息到特定的接入服务器. 网关通过经由标准因特网连接的标准服务器连接.

双向器件
有由最终处理三个主要的双向班:

A级

上行链路数据总是从端设备发起. 上行链路消息之后是 2 短的接收窗为下行链路消息. 这些下行链路消息也可被包括为确认消息,以及用于设备参数. 由于终端和网关之间的通信将永远只能是从终端, 有可能是新的详细设备参数和所述终端的执行之间的等待时间.

实际的传输时间触点间, A类设备完全可以把自己的LORA模块中的节能模式. 这将改变能源效率.

B级

B级, 其他A类的故障窗口, 成为进一步前台窗口. B类设备通过循环发送信标同步. 这些信标用于进行通信, 和其他接待窗口是在其他时间开放. 损失是,延迟可事先确定, 能耗的损失作为成分数量. 然而, 的能量消耗保持足够低的对于电池供电的应用.

C级

C类显著减少了等待时间的下行链路, 由于端设备的接收窗口总是听到只要该装置本身不给出任何消息. 为此原因, 可信服务器可以开始下行传输. 类A和C之间的时间变化在电池供电的法律合同是特别重要的, 例如, “固件在空中” 更新.

区域该频率洛拉
欧洲863-870 兆赫

433 兆赫

我们902-928 兆赫
中国470-510 兆赫

779-787 兆赫

澳大利亚915-928 兆赫
印度人865-867 兆赫
亚洲433 兆赫
北美915 兆赫

What is the Technology Behind LoRa Frequency

LoRa frequency

LoRa uses the CSS (Chirp Spread Spectrum) modulation which uses a frequency spreading method as a modulation technique. So-called chirp pulses are sent as symbols, which increase or decrease in LoRa frequency continuously over time. The data transmission is then realized by the sequential sequence of these chirp pulses.

LoRa frequency

Special properties

Since LoRa works in the ISM frequency bands (433 MHz, 868 MHz and 915 MHz), the radiated transmission power is limited. In order to have a larger radio range than conventional modulation types such as To achieve FSK (Frequency Shift Keying), the receiver sensitivity has been significantly improved with LoRa. The LoRa receiver can still successfully receive and decode a useful LoRa signal up to 20 dB below the noise level, which results in a receiver sensitivity of a maximum of -149 dBm. Compared to the maximum FSK sensitivity of approx. –125 dBm to -130 dBm, LoRa offers a significant improvement. With the FSK receiver, the signal can only be successfully decoded if the useful signal is approx.

LoRa-Frequency-and-signal strength

Thanks to the property that LoRa can still successfully receive a useful signal up to 20 dB below the noise level, the robustness to radio interference is significantly better than that of FSK. FSK systems only work correctly if the interference signal is at least 10 dB weaker than the useful signal. In the best case, LoRa systems can still receive the useful signal if the interference signal is 20 dB stronger than the useful signal.

Limitations

From the graphic above you can see that LoRa can receive about 30 dB weaker signals than with FSK. However, there are two restrictions that somewhat relativize this big difference.

• First, the LoRa modulation is broadband than the FSK modulation, which means that the noise level of the LoRa receiver is generally higher than that of the FSK receiver. Specifically, doubling the bandwidth increases the noise level by 3 dB.
• Secondly, LoRa can only receive a useful signal up to 20 dB below the noise level at very slow data rates of ≤ 0.5 kbit / s. As soon as the data rate is increased, either the negative signal-to-noise ratio increases further towards zero or the bandwidth has to be increased further, which in turn increases the noise level.

Comparison measurement between LoRa and FSK

To find out how good LoRa really is, a direct comparison between LoRa and FSK should be carried out. For this purpose, our previously used standard FSK transceivers (CC1020 and CC1101) are compared with the data from the LoRa / FSK transceiver SX1261.

TransceiverModulation 

Max sensitivity according to the datasheet

Data rateRX- bandwidth
CC1020FSK-118 dBm2.4 kBit/s12.5 kHz
CC1101FSK-116 dBm0.6 kBit/s58 kHz
SX1261FSK-125 dBm0.6 kBit/s4 kHz
SX1261LoRa-149.2 dBm0.02 kBit/s8 kHz

According to the information from the datasheets, LoRa achieves at least a 24dB better maximum sensitivity than with the best FSK transceiver (SX1261). Compared to the old FSK transceivers (CC1020 and CC1101), the maximum sensitivity is even 31 or 33 dB better. Since it can be assumed that the radio range can be doubled for every 10 dB more sensitivity, a 4 to 8 times the radio range should be possible with LoRa compared to FSK.

However, it is also noticeable that the maximum LoRa sensitivity is achieved with an extremely slow data rate of only 0.02 kbit / s. In order to obtain a direct, meaningful comparison between the different transceivers, the sensitivity of all transceivers is determined at the same data rate. According to Semtech’s manufacturer, LoRa would have to achieve about 7 to 10 dB more sensitivity at the same data rate as FSK.

Our own measurements have given the following results:

Data rateSensitivity
CC1020CC1101SX1261SX1261
FSKFSK dBmFSKLoRa
1.2 kBit/s-117 dBm-112 dBm-123 dBm-129 dBm
2.4 kBit/s-117 dBm-111 dBm-121 dBm-126 dBm
4.8 kBit/s-114 dBm-109 dBm-118 dBm-123 dBm
9.6 kBit/s-112 dBm-107 dBm-116 dBm-120 dBm

The SX1261 transceiver with LoRa modulation achieves 4 – 6 dB more sensitivity than with FSK modulation. In comparison to the CC1020 8 – 11 dB and in comparison to the CC1101 13 – 17 dB more sensitivity is achieved. It is striking that the lower the data rate is chosen, the more sensitivity gain can be achieved with LoRa.

Another view shows the energy-saving potential of LoRa. In order to achieve the same sensitivity as with FSK, approximately 4 times the data rate can be used with LoRa. The same radio telegram thus becomes 4 times shorter and the energy consumption also drops by a factor of 4.

Conclusion:

As with all radio transceivers, the maximum LoRa sensitivity of -149 dBm is only achieved at the lowest data rate. This data rate for LoRa is only approx. 0.02 kbit / s and is therefore unusable for many applications. However, if such low data rates can be used, 4 times the radio range is theoretically possible compared to modern FSK transceivers.

If the LoRa data rate is increased to 1.2 kBit / s to 10 kBit / s, LoRa achieves approx. 4-6 dB more sensitivity compared to modern FSK transceivers. Compared to older FSK transceivers such as the CC1101 or CC1020, the radio range can even be doubled or tripled with LoRa.

There is an interesting energy-saving option in applications where the current FSK sensitivity was sufficient. If the same sensitivity is to be achieved with LoRa, the data rate can be increased by a factor of 4 compared to FSK, whereby the energy consumption can also be reduced by a factor of 4.

For us, LoRa technology represents an interesting alternative for applications with data rates up to 10 kbit / s, since the radio range can be increased massively compared to the older transceivers. Of particular interest to us is the possibility of connecting to the LoRaWAN network, as this means that IoT applications can be connected to the Internet practically anywhere.

With our LoRa module “TRX433-70” we are ready for future innovative LoRa projects.

Radio transmission with LoRa

The meter readings, switching commands and other information can be transmitted from the concentrator module to the router and back in a variety of ways. If the wired transmission is not possible or too expensive, radio transmission with LoRa can be an alternative for remote reading.

The LoRa radio standard

LoRa stands for Long Range, i.e. high (radio) range and is an alternative radio standard to the known technologies such as UMTS or LTE. In many countries, LoRa has already established itself as the basis for a communication standard in the so-called Internet of Things (IoT), for machine-to-machine (M2M) communication and for industry and smart city applications.

The LoRa radio standard, like other radio technologies, uses the free LoRa frequency bands from the license-free ISM bands (Industrial, Scientific and Medical). In Europe, these are the bands in the 433 and 868 MHz range. By using a special radio procedure, the so-called frequency spread, the technology is almost immune to interference. The range between transmitter and receiver is between 2 and 15 km, depending on the environment and built-up area. Due to the high sensitivity of -137 dBm, high penetration of buildings can be achieved. The radio signals penetrate deep into the interior of buildings and basements. Especially at campsites where the metallic covers of the caravans and mobile homes often weaken the signal strength of WLAN, radio transmission with LoRa is superior here. The data rate at LoRa is between 0.3 and 50 kbit / s.

Applications for LoRa

LoRa is mainly used in applications in which very little data is to be transmitted over a long distance in a very energy-saving manner. These data are usually measured values, status signals or manipulated values.

Differences between WLAN, LoRa and mobile radio

WLAN and mobile radio are designed to transmit large amounts of data. Relatively short ranges are accepted. LoRa, on the other hand, is optimized for the transmission of small amounts of data over large distances. The following table shows some differences between the different radio standards.

 

WLANLoRACellular
Rang<100 m2.000-3.000(city)

>10.000 m (country)

<300 m (city)

<10.000 m (country)

 

Max. data rate

6.933 Mbit/s50 kbit/s1.000 Mbit/s
CostsMediumLowVery high
LoRa Frequency2.4 GHz

5 GHz

60 GHz

433 MHz

868 MHz

800 MHz

900 MHz

1.800 MHz

2.100 MHz

2.600 MHz

Max. transmission power1.000 mW25 mW20-50 w (Base station)

200 Mw (Terminal devices)

LoRaWAN (long range wide area network)

Low Power WANs (LPWANs) are network concepts for the Internet of Things (IoT) and machine-to-machine communication (M2M). LPWANs are characterized by the fact that they can cover distances of up to 50 km and require very little energy. There are several technical approaches to realizing the LPWANs. One from ETSI: ETSI GS LTN, other names are LoRaWAN, Weightless and RPMA, which stands for Random Phase Multiple Access.

So that the bridgeable distance is not impaired too much by the free space attenuation, some of the LPWAN concepts mentioned use frequencies in ISM bands at 433 MHz and 868 MHz. Few also work in the ISM band at 2.4 GHz.

For example, as regards SigFox as LoRaWAN (Long Range Wide Area Network), it uses the ISM band at 868 MHz (USA 915 MHz) in Europe. The bridgeable distance range is over 5 km in the urban area and over 15 km outside the city. There are also radio transceivers in the LoRa frequency range of 2.4 GHz with which a range of 10 km can be bridged. LoRa transmission is a combination of Chirp Spread Spectrum (CSS) and Software Defined Radio (SDR). A key advantage is that signals that are up to 20 dB below the noise level can still be detected. The LoRaWAN concept supports bidirectional communication, mobility and location-based services.

Characteristic valuesLoRaWAN
 

Frequency range

 

ISM band, 433 MHz, 868 MHz (EU), 915 MHz (USA)

ModulationChirp spread spectrum (CSS)
Channel British8*125 KHz (EU),

64*125KHz,8*125KHz(USA)

 

Package size

 

Determined by the user

Datasheet Up/Down300 bit/s 50 kbit/s (EU)

900 bit/s bis 100 kbit/s(USA)

 

topology

 

Star topology

 

distance

Up to 5 km in built-up areas

Up to 15 km in the rural area

 

The end devices are connected to a base station, which in turn receives the information encrypted from a backbone via TCP / IP and the SSL protocol.
To ensure that the battery life of the end components is as long as possible, all data rates and the RF output signals are managed by the LoRaWAN network and the end components are controlled via an adaptive data rate (ADR). There are three-terminal device classes: Class A devices can communicate bidirectionally and have a planned transmission window in the uplink, class B devices also have a planned transmission window in the downlink and the transmission window for class C devices is continuously open. The LoRaWAN technology is standardized by the LoRa Alliance.

LoRaWan – Framework for wireless networks

LoRaWan is a specification and describes a framework for wireless networks. It is used in networks with little data traffic, for example in sensor networks. LoRaWan (LongRangeWideAreaNetwork) is a so-called LPWAN (Low Power Wide Area Network) protocol. This article shows the frequencies used by LoRaWan and the available classes of end devices.

LoRa frequency varies in different regions of the world. However, it is necessary here to get more information before starting up a LoRa device in order to set the correct frequency. The following table shows the correct frequencies for each country or continent:

LoRaWan is also treated like a star topology. Gateways forward messages from the end devices to a specific access server. The gateways are connected via the standard server via standard internet connections.

Bidirectional devices
There are three main bidirectional classes handled by End:

Class A

The uplink data always originate from the end device. The uplink message is followed by 2 short reception windows for downlink messages. These downlink messages can also be included for confirmation messages as well as for device parameters. Since the communication between the terminal and the gateway will only ever be from the terminal, there may be a waiting time between the detailed new device parameters and the implementation of the terminal.

Between the actual transmission time contacts, Class A devices can put their LoRa module completely in an energy-saving mode. This will change energy efficiency.

Class B

Class B, others to class A’s fault windows, become further reception windows. Class B devices are synchronized via cyclically sent beacons. These beacons are used to communicate, and other reception windows are open at other times. The loss is that the latency can be determined in advance, the loss of energy consumption as a component number. However, the energy consumption remains low enough for battery-operated applications.

Class C

Class C significantly reduces the latency for the downlink, since the receiving window of the end device is always heard as long as the device itself does not give any messages. For this reason, the trusted server can start a downlink transmission. A time change between class A and C is particularly important in battery-powered legal contracts, for example, “firmware-over-the-air” updates.

RegionThe LoRa Frequency
Europe863-870 MHz

433 MHz

US902-928 MHz
China470-510 MHz

779-787 MHz

Australian915-928 MHz
Indian865-867 MHz
Asia433 MHz
North America915 MHz