مواضيع بحثها مع LoRaWAN سرعة انتقال

نقل LoRaWAN

أكثر قدرة هامة لأجهزة تقنيات عمليات هي أن الاتصال. هناك بروتوكولات مختلفة مع مناطق مختلفة من التطبيق. في حين واي فاي, بلوتوث, وغالبا ما تستخدم زيجبي أو معايير إذاعية أخرى لمسافات قصيرة في المنزل, الأجهزة يجب أن تكون موجودة في أي مكان آخر استخدام التكنولوجيات البديلة. المجموعة مثل هذه التكنولوجيات هي انتقال LoRaWAN. ومع ذلك, هذه لديها ميزة من الكفاءة أطول بكثير نطاق والطاقة أفضل من معظم المعايير إذاعية أخرى على حساب عرض النطاق الترددي. الصورة أدناه يبين LoRaWAN بالمقارنة مع بعض بروتوكولات الاتصالات اللاسلكية الأخرى. وتستخدم تقنيات LoRaWAN في الغالب عندما يتم تثبيت أجهزة غاية في المواقع التي عمل فقط مع غيرها من التكنولوجيات التي يصعب تحقيقها, أو عندما كفاءة الطاقة ذات أهمية كبيرة. في هذا LoRaWAN يتم استخدام التكنولوجيا LPWAN.

ومع ذلك, مجموعة واستهلاك الطاقة ليست هي النقاط الهامة فقط في تقنيات عمليات. ومن المسائل التي غالبا ما تهمل هي أمن الأجهزة المتصلة بالشبكة. ما بين 2017 و 2018 وحده, عدد من البرامج الضارة المعروفة لأجهزة تقنيات عمليات زادت أربعة أضعاف تقريبا. ولكن ليس من البرامج الضارة التهديد الوحيد. الكثير من أجهزة تقنيات عمليات إرسال البيانات الحماية الكافية, مما تسبب في الهجمات على تلك البيانات وبالتالي أيضا على البنية التحتية تقنيات عمليات. تجسس, التلاعب في البيانات وسيطرة كاملة من أنظمة سيناريوهات الهجوم المثالية.

موضوع آخر ذي صلة في مجال الأمن تقنيات عمليات هو تحديثات للبرامج الثابتة; أنها تمكن الشركات المصنعة لتقديم وظائف جديدة للأجهزة, في حال وقوع حوادث أمنية, لعلاجها دون أن يضطر المستخدم لتصبح نشطة. ومن المهم للغاية أن تتم أيضا التحديثات بطريقة آمنة بحيث المهاجمين غير قادر على ضخ الثابتة وهمية في جهاز.

الجمع بين تحديثات البرامج الثابتة والأجهزة النهاية التي تستخدم بروتوكول LoRaWAN لنقل البيانات يخلق تحديا جديدا تماما. أما بالنسبة للتقنيات القائمة على بروتوكول الإنترنت, مثل B. W-LAN, وهناك بالفعل بعض الاقتراحات لبروتوكولات محددة, لا تزال غير مستكشفة التحديثات عبر LoRaWAN إلى حد كبير. والسبب في ذلك البروتوكولات الكلاسيكية لا يمكن استخدام يمكن العثور عليها في القيود التكنولوجيات LoRaWAN. LoRaWAN, فمثلا, له حدود عالية من حيث سرعة نقل البيانات وسرعة انتقال LoRaWAN وليس لديها بروتوكول نقل موحد, الذي يعوض عن الخسائر في نقل البيانات يمكن.

1.1 صندوق البريد الذكية

في هذا العمل, يعتبر تطبيق معين ويتم فحص مختلف الموضوعات الأمن تقنيات عمليات. وقد وضعت علبة بريد الذكية, التي تخطر المستخدم عبر هواتفهم الذكية عندما يتم في صندوق البريد تم استلام بريد.

1.1.1 حالة الاستخدام

الفكرة الأساسية من علبة البريد الذكية هي التأكد من أن المستخدم ليس لديه باستمرار لفتح صندوق بريده لمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك أي بريد في ذلك. في حين أن, وقال انه ينبغي أن تتلقى إشعارا على جهازك المحمول له في أقرب وقت كما أن هناك الإلكتروني في صندوق البريد. وهذا له ميزة أن الوقت المستخدم ليس بسبب لزوم لها إلى علب البريد التي هي بعيدة كل البعد عن المستخدم أو التي نادرا ما تتضمن الإلكتروني هل ادعى.

يتم الاحتفاظ وظائف التطبيق عمدا صغير بسبب التركيز على أمن وكفاءة الطاقة. بالاضافة, وقد تم تطوير التطبيق باعتباره “تمديد”. وينبغي أن يكون من الممكن القيام بذلك مع القليل من الجهد من جانب المستخدم لتثبيت أي الخطابات. تشغيل البطارية وشكل عامل صغير وبالتالي متطلبات المشروع أيضا.

1.1.2 المواضيع المطروحة مع انتقال LoRaWAN

كما ذكر آنفا, التركيز في العمل على أمن تقنيات عمليات. بالاضافة, تعتبر كفاءة الطاقة. من هذه الأولويات, هناك العديد من المواضيع الفرعية التي يتم فحصها باستخدام علبة الذكية كانت النقطة الأولى هي أمنا, نقل LoRaWAN البيانات المشفرة E2E-. خصوصا مع صناديق البريد في المناطق العامة, من المهم أن المهاجم لا معرفة يمكن تحديد ما إذا كان ومقدار البريد في صندوق البريد. هذا يمنع الذين يمكن بسهولة معرفة ما إذا كان في انقطاع من شأنه أن يكون مفيدا. حماية مهمة ضد التلاعب أيضا لمنع المستخدم من الحصول على معلومات كاذبة عن حالة من علبة البريد. بالاضافة, فإنه يتم فحص مدى التفاوض على مفاتيح التشفير لهذه المهام هو يمكن أن يتم بطريقة آمنة من دون الشركة المصنعة للجهاز أو أطراف ثالثة يمكن معرفة.

النقطة الرئيسية التالية من التحقيق هي تحديثات البرامج الثابتة آمنة عبر LoRaWAN. لا يوجد حاليا أي معيار رسمي بشأن نقل البرامج الثابتة. التحديثات عبر LoRaWAN. في هذا الصدد, وهي واحدة من المهام الرئيسية لهذا العمل
لتصميم واختبار. بالنهايه, يجب أن يكون صندوق بريد الذكية قادرة على تنفيذ تحديثات البرامج الثابتة عبر LoRaWAN دون تدخل المستخدم. يجب أيضا أن هذه التحديثات يتم تأمينها بشكل مشفر لمنع التلاعب. أخيرا, يتم فحص كيف يتم طرح الإلكتروني إلى جهاز علبة البريد التي يمكن التعرف. تم فحص التقنيات المختلفة والتعرف على واحدة مناسبة.

2.1 LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN هو الحل LoRaWAN لتطبيقات تقنيات عمليات مع كمية صغيرة من البيانات كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة ويمكن أن تنتقل لاسلكيا عبر مسافات كبيرة. وهو يتألف من ناحية راديو لورا, بروتوكول للنقل البيانات الفعلية LoRaWAN وعلى الجانب الآخر من LoRaWAN نفسها, بروتوكول MAC الذي يقوم على لورا يتراكم ويوفر إجراءات موحدة لنقل البيانات عبر ورا. LoRaWAN, باعتبارها واحدة من النقاط الرئيسية في هذا العمل, كان يستخدم للاتصال مع الأجهزة نهاية, بما في ذلك صندوق بريد الذكية.

2.1.1 ما هو ورا

لورا هو عملية تضمين التردد التي وضعتها الاتصالات اللاسلكية Semtech بين شركاء اتصال ثنائي سمحت. أنه, وبالتالي, بروتوكول البدنية (طبقة ضد السرقة 1), والتي تأخذ فقط على تعديل لنقل البيانات الفعلية. يستخدم لورا تغرد التضمين تردد لرموز تشفير. التشكيل غرد تستخدم استخدامات "تغرد" للرموز الإرسال. تم تغيير تردد باستمرار عبر عرض النطاق الترددي خلال فترة محددة من الزمن. رموز نقل حوالي يتم تحديد بداية غرد.

المزايا الأساسية التي تقدمها تعديل هذا بالمقارنة مع FSK أو PSK هي بعيدة المدى ومتانة ضد الضوضاء. كلاهما من عوامل نشر وعرض النطاق الترددي المستخدمة. عامل نشر يحدد متى يستمر غرد واحد, أي مدى اتساع أنه ينتشر ". وهناك عامل العالي يعني حرف أوسع, الذي يضمن نطاقات نقل LoRaWAN أطول, ولكن نقل البيانات أيضا أبطأ. في لورا نشر العوامل من 7 إلى 12 ويعرف, وهو ما يعني LoRaWAN سرعة انتقال من أقصى 37.5 كيلوبت / ليالي لمدة لا تقل عن 300 قليلا / الصورة لا يمكن أن يتحقق. يتم إصلاح عرض النطاق الترددي في 125 كيلوهرتز, 250 كيلو هرتز أو 500 كيلوهرتز و يؤثر أيضا على نطاق وسرعة إشارة. يتم تحديد خيار ملموسة من هذه المعايير من قبل LoRaWAN.

الترددات التي استخدامات ورا تعتمد على المنطقة. في أوروبا, تستطيع 868 ميغاهيرتز أو في 433 يمكن إرسال ميغاهيرتز. ومن المهم أن نذكر أن هذه الترددات خالية من ترخيص الأطياف, لذلك ليس هناك رسوم ترخيص لاستخدامها. للتعويض عن هذا, تطبيق الزمنية, إرسال القيود التي جميع الأجهزة يجب أن تلتزم. هذه هي بين 0.1% و 10%, اعتمادا على التردد المستخدمة.

2.1.2 ما هو LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN هو بروتوكول MAC (طبقة ضد السرقة 2), الذي يقوم على لورا (ولكن أيضا مع FSK يمكن استخدامها), وأيضا بعض عناصر بروتوكول الشبكة (طبقة ضد السرقة 3) يحتوي على. وهو يحدد شكل رسالة, وكذلك أوامر MAC للسيطرة على نقل. ويتم تحديد معايير لانتقال لورا الكامنة أيضا LoRaWAN. الجزء الأول هو مواصفات الفعلية, الذي يحدد صيغ رسالة, الأوامر MAC, وتسلسل. المعلمات الإقليمية, التي إعدادات محددة لورا, وكذلك بعض التعديلات أو الإضافات التي أدخلت على بروتوكول LoRaWAN, تتوفر امتدادا تحديد اعتمادا على المنطقة المعنية.

تتكون شبكة A LoRaWAN من عدة مجموعات من المشاركين ونظمت في طوبولوجيا النجوم التي كتبها نجوم, كما هو مبين في الشكل 5. في منتصف هو خادم الشبكة, وهو الإدارة من جانب الخادم لشبكة LoRaWAN والعروض API لتطبيقات العميل. إدارة التطبيقات LoRaWAN وكلا إرسال وإرسال رسائل لتلقي. يتصل هذا الخادم مع عدة بوابات عبر اتصال IP. مهمتها الرئيسية هي لتوجيه الحزم LoRaWAN المتلقاة من الملقم الشبكة إلى الأجهزة النهاية عبر لورا والعكس بالعكس. وفقا لذلك, أنها بمثابة واجهة لتغيير المادية متوسطة. نقف على نهاية من الأجهزة التي تتصل مع نهاية بوابات واحد أو أكثر لنقل البيانات الخاصة بهم. بروتوكول LoRaWAN هو فقط بين البوابة والأجهزة المستخدمة نهاية. ويعرف أي معيار للمسارات المتبقية وهذا الشكل, وبالتالي, يعتمد على تطبيقات محددة تستخدم.

في هذا السياق, يأخذ LoRaWAN على بعض المهام, التي سيتم شرحها بالتفصيل أدناه. وهذا يشمل الطبقات الاتصال المختلفة التي تستخدم البيانات التي يمكن أن تنتقل بطرق مختلفة, الخيارين لإضافة الأجهزة إلى تطبيق LoRaWAN, والاختيار تشفير وسلامة البيانات المنقولة, ومختلف الأوامر MAC للسيطرة على اتصال. هذا الأخير لن يكون أوضح كذلك لأنها محددة جدا وليست ذات الصلة لهذا العمل.

2.1.3 وسائط نقل البيانات LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN يدعم ثلاث وسائل مختلفة لنقل البيانات. كل من هذه مودي لديها حالات الاستخدام المحددة, فضلا عن مزايا وعيوب, وهي مدرجة أدناه.

الطبقة-A

الطبقة-A الوضع ويجب دعم اسطة نقل LoRaWAN الأولية المستخدمة من قبل جميع الأجهزة النهاية وبوابات. وهو يتيح الاتصال ثنائي الاتجاه بين محطة وبوابة تقوم على مبدأ الوها. في حالة LoRaWAN, يعني ذلك محطة يمكن إرسال البيانات في أي وقت, ولكن بعد إرسال حزمة البيانات فقط لمدة فترات قصيرة واحدة يمكن أيضا الحصول على البيانات.

وميزة هذا الوضع هو أن الجهاز الطرفي فقط أثناء إرسال البيانات وبعد فترة وجيزة من هذا بدوره على جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال لورا لتلقي استجابة حصلت ل. وهذا يعني أنه يمكن أن تبقى المعطل أكثر من مرة, مما يوفر الطاقة. العيب, ومع ذلك, غير أن المحطة ليس لديها أي بيانات في جميع الأوقات الأخرى يمكن أن تلقي. بالاضافة, فقط يمكن للمرء أن يتم تلقي كل حزمة البيانات المرسلة تصبح.

الفئة (أ) عملية, وبالتالي, تروق عند إرسال الرسائل في المقام الأول الإرسال والرسائل نادرا ما الهابطة. منذ LoRaWAN يفضل في أجهزة الاستشعار وأجهزة مماثلة نهاية المنخفضة للأداء التي تقدم عادة فقط مركز المعلومات لتطبيق نهاية يستخدم لمعظم الأجهزة نهاية واسطة نقل البيانات المفضل.

LoRaWAN درجة انتقال ل

الصف ب

الطبقة-B هو امتداد التي لا يجب أن تكون معتمدة من قبل الأجهزة النهاية. قبل هذا الوضع يمكن استخدامها من قبل الأجهزة النهاية بالإضافة إلى الدرجة الاولى على فترات منتظمة. استقبال البيانات من بوابة دون الحاجة أولا لإرساله نفسك. إلى منارة يرسل ما يسمى منارة كل 128 س, الذي يحتوي على بعض المعلومات حول الوضع البوابة. نهاية الأجهزة التي تتلقى هذا ويمكن بعد ذلك استخدام منارة ووتيرة فتحة بينغ لحساب الأوقات التي يمكن تلقي البيانات. وهذا ما يسمح لها أن تكون في الوقت المناسب لحظات قصيرة التبديل على جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال لورا لتلقي أي البيانات التي قد تكون موجودة. يظهر عملية أدناه.

LoRaWAN درجة انتقال ب

العروض الطبقة-B توازن جيد بين الوصول واستهلاك الطاقة منذ دورية فتحة بينغ يمكن تعديلها لمراقبة عدد المرات التي يجب أن تلقيه. وهذا يعني أن يستخدم المزيد من الطاقة من لتشغيل نقية الفئة (أ), لكن لا تزال هناك فترات طويلة فيها جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال لورا يمكن إيقاف. ميزة أخرى من الدرجة B هي القدرة على تخزين البيانات في 8 لتكون قادرة على نقل المتعدد لعدة أجهزة في وقت واحد, طالما أن العنوان والمفاتيح هي نفسها. مجموعات الإرسال المتعدد يمكن, وبالتالي, سيتم إنشاء.

استخدام الدرجة B من المنطقي إذا كان الجهاز يحتوي على استقبال البيانات في كثير من الأحيان دون إرسال البيانات نفسها, لكن الجهاز لا يزال لديه للعمل بكفاءة الطاقة. ومن شأن تطبيق نموذجي يكون نهاية الأجهزة التي هي منتظمة يمكن السيطرة عليها دون أن الوقت الحرج.

فئة ج

الاخير, أيضا اختياري, وضع الإرسال الدرجة C. في هذا, ومفاتيح المحطة بشكل دائم على استقبال لتكون قادرة على استقبال البيانات من بوابة في أي وقت. خيار الإرسال مع فئة-A يبقى كما في الصورة أدناه.

LoRaWAN درجة انتقال ج

ميزة من الدرجة C هي أن البيانات يمكن أن تصل في أي وقت. ومع ذلك, ثمن هذا هو ارتفاع استهلاك الطاقة, منذ الجهاز النهاية يجب أن تبقي لورا جهاز الإرسال والاستقبال نشطة في جميع الأوقات. نقل المتعدد LoRaWAN من الممكن أيضا هنا.

وينبغي أن تستخدم الطبقة-C فقط عندما تكون كميات كبيرة من البيانات التي يتم نقلها خلال فترة قصيرة من الوقت أو عندما تحدث التحويلات وقت حرج. يجب أن يكون نهاية الأجهزة مثل هذه إمدادات الطاقة دائم منذ هذا الوضع يستهلك الكثير من الطاقة لتشغيل البطارية.

Examined Topics With LoRaWAN Transmission Speed

LoRaWAN transmission speed

The most important ability of IoT devices is that of communication. there are different protocols with different areas of application. While WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee or other radio standards are often used for short distances in the home, devices have to be located elsewhere use alternative technologies. Such a group of technologies is LoRaWAN transmission. However, these have the advantage of a significantly longer range and better energy efficiency than most other radio standards at the expense of bandwidth. The picture below shows LoRaWAN compared to some other wireless communication protocols. LoRaWAN technologies are mostly used when end devices are installed in locations that only work with other technologies that are difficult to achieve, or when energy efficiency is of great importance. In this LoRaWAN is used as LPWAN technology.

However, range and power consumption are not the only important points in the IoT. One issue that is often neglected is the security of networked devices. Between 2017 and 2018 alone, the number of known malware for IoT devices increased almost quadrupled. But malware isn’t the only threat. Lots of IoT devices send data inadequately protected, causing attacks on that data and thus also on the IoT infrastructure. Espionage, manipulation of data and the complete takeover of systems are exemplary attack scenarios.

Another relevant topic in IoT security is firmware updates; they enable manufacturers to bring new functions to devices and, in the event of security incidents, to remedy them without the user having to become active. It is extremely important that the updates are also carried out in a secure manner so that attackers are unable to inject fake firmware into a device.

Combining firmware updates and end devices that use a LoRaWAN protocol for data transmission creates a completely new challenge. While for IP-based technologies, such as B. W-LAN, there are already some suggestions for specific protocols, updates via LoRaWAN are still largely unexplored. The reason that the classic protocols cannot be used can be found in the restrictions of LoRaWAN technologies. LoRaWAN, for example, has high limitations in terms of data rate and LoRaWAN transmission speed and has no standardized transport protocol, which compensates for losses in data transmission could.

1.1 The smart mailbox

In this work, a specific application is considered and various topics of IoT security are examined. A smart mailbox was developed, which notifies the user via their smartphone when mail is in the mailbox has been received.

1.1.1 Use case

The basic idea of ​​the smart mailbox is to make sure that the user doesn’t constantly have to open his mailbox to find out if there is any mail in it. Instead, he should receive a notification on his mobile device as soon as there is mail is in the mailbox. This has the advantage that the time of the user is not unnecessary due to mailboxes that are far from the user or that rarely contain mail Is claimed.

The functions of the application are deliberately kept small because of the focus on security and energy efficiency. In addition, the application was developed as an “extension”. It should be possible to do this with little effort on the part of the user to install any letterboxes. Battery operation and a small form factor are thus also requirements for the project.

1.1.2 Examined topics with LoRaWAN transmission

As mentioned earlier, the focus of the work is on IoT security. In addition, energy efficiency is considered. From these priorities, there are several subtopics that are examined using the smart mailbox have been the first point is the secure, E2E-encrypted data LoRaWAN transmission. Especially With mailboxes in public areas, it is important that an attacker does not find out can determine whether and how much mail is in the mailbox. This prevents who can easily find out if a break-in would be worthwhile. Protection is also important against manipulation to prevent the user from receiving false information about the condition of the mailbox. In addition, it is examined to what extent the negotiation of cryptographic keys for these tasks is a secure way can be carried out without the manufacturer of the device or third parties can find out.

The next main point of investigation is the secure firmware updates via LoRaWAN. There is currently no official standard regarding the transfer of firmware. Updates via LoRaWAN. In this respect, it is one of the main tasks of this work
to design and test. In the end, the smart mailbox should be able to carry out firmware updates via LoRaWAN without user intervention. These updates must also be cryptographically secured to prevent manipulation. Finally, it is examined how mail is thrown into a mailbox device that can be recognized. Various technologies were examined and a suitable one was identified.

2.1 LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN is a LoRaWAN solution for IoT applications with a small amount of data energy-efficient and can be transmitted wirelessly over large distances. It consists of the one hand of LoRa radio, a protocol for physical data LoRaWAN transmission and on the other hand of LoRaWAN itself, a MAC protocol which is based on LoRa builds up and provides a standardized procedure for the transfer of data via LoRa. LoRaWAN, as one of the key points in this work, was used for communication with the end devices, including the smart mailbox.

2.1.1 What is LoRa

LoRa is a frequency modulation process developed by Semtech wireless communication between two communication partners allowed. It is, therefore, a physical protocol (OSI Layer 1), which only takes over the modulation of the physical data transmission. LoRa uses frequency-modulated chirps to encode symbols. The chirp modulation used uses “chirps” to transmit symbols. The frequency is continuously changed across the bandwidth over a defined period of time. The symbols transferred are about the beginning of the chirp are defined.

The primary advantages that this modulation offers compared to FSK or PSK are the long-range and the robustness against noise. Both are from the spreading factor and bandwidth used. The spreading factor determines how long a single chirp lasts, ie how wide it is spreading”. A higher factor means wider symbols, which ensures longer LoRaWAN transmission ranges, but also slower data transmission. In LoRa spreading factors from 7 to 12 is defined, which means LoRaWAN transmission speed from a maximum of 37.5 kbit / s to a minimum of 300 bit / s can be achieved. The bandwidth is fixed at 125 kHz, 250 kHz or 500 kHz and also influences the range and speed of the signal. The concrete choice of these parameters is determined by LoRaWAN.

The frequencies that LoRa uses depend on the region. In Europe, you can 868 MHz or at 433 MHz can be sent. It is important to mention that these frequencies are license-free spectra, so there is no license fee to use them. To compensate for this, apply temporal, send restrictions that all devices must adhere to. These are between 0.1% and 10%, depending on the frequency used.

2.1.2 What is LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN is a MAC protocol (OSI Layer 2), which is based on LoRa (but also with FSK can be used), and also some elements of a network protocol (OSI Layer 3) contains. It defines a message format, as well as MAC commands to control the transfer. The parameters for the underlying LoRa transmission are also determined by LoRaWAN. The first part is the actual specification, which defines the message formats, the MAC commands, and the sequence. The regional parameters, which specific settings for LoRa, as well as some adjustments or additions to the LoRaWAN protocol, are available as an extension define depending on the respective region.

A LoRaWAN network consists of several groups of participants and is organized in a star-by-star topology, as shown in Figure 5. In the middle is the network server, which is the server-side administration of the LoRaWAN network and offers an API for client applications. Manage LoRaWAN applications and both send and send messages to receive. This server communicates with several gateways via an IP connection. Their primary task is to forward the LoRaWAN packets received from the network server to the end devices via LoRa and vice versa. Accordingly, they serve as an interface for changing the physical medium. Stand at the end than the end devices that communicate with one or more gateways to transmit their data. The LoRaWAN protocol is only between the gateway and the end devices used. No standard is defined for the remaining paths and that format, therefore, depends on the specific applications used.

In this context, LoRaWAN takes on some tasks, which are explained further below. This includes the different communication classes that are used data can be transmitted in different ways, the two options for adding devices to a LoRaWAN application, the encryption and integrity check of transmitted data, and the various MAC commands for controlling the connection. The latter will not be explained further because they are very specific and are not relevant to this work.

2.1.3 LoRaWAN Data transmission modes

LoRaWAN supports three different modes for data transmission. Each of these Modi has specific use cases, as well as advantages and disadvantages, which are listed below.

Class-A

Class-A mode is the primary LoRaWAN transmission mode used by all end devices and gateways must be supported. It allows bidirectional communication between terminal and gateway based on the ALOHA principle. In the case of LoRaWAN, this means a terminal can send data at any time, but only for two short one’s Intervals after sending a data packet can also receive data.

The advantage of this mode is that a terminal device only while sending data and shortly after this turn on the LoRa transceiver to receive a response got to. This means that it can remain deactivated most of the time, which saves energy. The disadvantage, however, is that the terminal does not have any data at all other times can receive. In addition, only one can be received for each data packet sent become.

Class A operation, therefore, makes the most sense when primarily sending uplink messages and rarely downlink messages. Since LoRaWAN preferably in sensors and similar low-performance end devices that normally only provide status information for an end application is used for most end devices the preferred data transfer mode.

LoRaWAN transmission class a

Class-B

Class-B is an extension that does not have to be supported by end devices. By this mode can be used by end devices in addition to Class-A at regular intervals. Receive data from the gateway without first having to send it yourself. To the beacon sends a so-called beacon every 128 s, which contains some status information about the gateway. End devices that receive this can then use the beacon and the ping slot periodicity to calculate the times at which data can be received. This allows them to be at the right time for short moments switch on the LoRa transceiver to receive any data that may be present. The process is shown below.

LoRaWAN transmission class b

Class-B offers a good balance between accessibility and energy consumption since the ping slot periodicity can be adjusted to control how often it should be received. This means that more energy is used than for pure Class A operation, but there are still long periods in which the LoRa transceiver can be turned off. Another advantage of Class-B is the ability to store data in 8 to be able to transmit multicast to several devices simultaneously, as long as the address and the keys are the same. Multicast groups can, therefore, be created.

The use of Class-B makes sense if a device has to receive data more often without sending data itself, but the device still has to work energy-efficiently. A typical application would be end devices that are regular can be controlled without being time-critical.

Class-C

The last, also optional, the transmission mode is Class-C. In this, the switches terminal permanently on reception to be able to receive data from the gateway at any time. The option of transmission with Class-A remains as in the picture below.

LoRaWAN transmission class c

The advantage of Class-C is that data can be received at any time. However, the price for this is high energy consumption, since the end device must keep the LoRa transceiver active at all times. Multicast LoRaWAN transmission is also possible here.

Class-C should only be used when large amounts of data have to be transferred over a short period of time or when time-critical transfers occur. Such end devices should have a permanent power supply since this mode consumes too much energy for battery operation.