通过LoRaWAN传输速度检查主题

LoRaWAN传输

物联网设备最重要的功能是通信功能. 有不同的协议和不同的应用领域. 虽然WiFi, 蓝牙, Zigbee或其他无线电标准通常用于家庭中的短距离, 设备必须位于其他位置使用替代技术. 这类技术就是LoRaWAN传输. 然而, 与大多数其他无线电标准相比,它们具有范围远,能量效率高的优点,但会占用带宽. 下图显示了LoRaWAN与其他一些无线通信协议的比较. LoRaWAN技术通常在将终端设备安装在只能与其他难以实现的技术配合使用的位置时使用, 或当能源效率非常重要时. 在此LoRaWAN用作LPWAN技术.

然而, 范围和功耗不是物联网中的唯一重要点. 经常被忽略的一个问题是网络设备的安全性. 之间 2017 和 2018 单独, 物联网设备的已知恶意软件数量几乎增加了三倍. 但是恶意软件并不是唯一的威胁. 许多物联网设备发送的数据保护不足, 导致对该数据以及物联网基础设施的攻击. 间谍, 数据处理和系统的完全接管是典型的攻击情形.

物联网安全性的另一个相关主题是固件更新; 它们使制造商能够为设备带来新功能,并且, 在发生安全事故时, 在用户不必活跃的情况下进行补救. 极其重要的是,还必须以安全的方式执行更新,以使攻击者无法将伪造的固件注入设备.

结合固件更新和使用LoRaWAN协议进行数据传输的终端设备带来了全新的挑战. 而对于基于IP的技术, 例如B. 无线局域网, 已经有一些针对特定协议的建议, 通过LoRaWAN更新是否仍未开发. 无法使用经典协议的原因可以在LoRaWAN技术的限制中找到. 广域网, 例如, 在数据速率和LoRaWAN传输速度方面有很高的限制,并且没有标准化的传输协议, 可以补偿数据传输中的损失.

1.1 智能邮箱

在这项工作中, 考虑特定的应用程序,并检查IoT安全的各个主题. 开发了智能邮箱, 当收到邮箱中的邮件时,它将通过智能手机通知用户.

1.1.1 用例

智能邮箱的基本思想是确保用户不必经常打开自己的邮箱来查找其中是否有任何邮件. 代替, 只要邮箱中有邮件,他就应该在移动设备上收到通知. 这样做的好处是,由于邮箱距离用户较远或很少包含邮件,因此不需要花费用户时间.

由于专注于安全性和能源效率,因此故意将应用程序的功能保持在较小的水平. 此外, 该应用程序被开发为 “延期”. 用户应该可以毫不费力地安装任何信箱. 因此,电池操作和小尺寸也是该项目的要求.

1.1.2 通过LoRaWAN传输检查主题

如前面提到的, 工作重点是物联网安全. 此外, 考虑能源效率. 从这些优先事项, 使用智能邮箱检查了几个子主题,第一点就是安全性, 端到端加密数据LoRaWAN传输. 特别是在公共区域使用邮箱, 重要的是,攻击者无法发现可以确定邮箱中是否有邮件以及有多少邮件. 这样可以防止谁轻易发现闯入是否值得. 保护对于防止操纵也很重要,以防止用户收到有关邮箱状况的虚假信息。. 此外, 在没有设备制造商或第三方无法发现的情况下,可以检查在何种程度上可以安全地协商这些任务的密码密钥.

下一个要研究的重点是通过LoRaWAN安全更新固件. 当前没有关于固件传输的官方标准. 通过LoRaWAN更新. 在这方面, 这是这项工作的主要任务之一
设计和测试. 到底, 智能邮箱应该能够通过LoRaWAN进行固件更新,而无需用户干预. 还必须对这些更新进行加密保护以防止篡改. 最后, 检查邮件如何被扔到可以识别的邮箱设备中. 研究了各种技术并确定了合适的技术.

2.1 广域网

LoRaWAN是针对物联网应用的LoRaWAN解决方案,具有少量数据节能功能,并且可以在远距离无线传输. 它由LoRa电台的一只手组成, LoRaWAN物理数据传输协议,另一方面,LoRaWAN本身, 建立了基于LoRa的MAC协议,并提供了通过LoRa进行数据传输的标准化程序. 广域网, 作为这项工作的重点之一, 用于与终端设备通信, 包括智能邮箱.

2.1.1 什么是LoRa

LoRa是由Semtech开发的一种调频过程,允许两个通信伙伴之间进行无线通信. 它是, 因此, 物理协议 (OSI层 1), 仅接管物理数据传输的调制. LoRa使用调频线性调频编码符号. 使用的线性调频调制使用“线性调频”来传输符号. 在定义的时间段内,带宽上的频率不断变化. 传输的符号大约是the的开始.

与FSK或PSK相比,此调制提供的主要优势是远程性和抗噪声能力. 两者均来自所使用的扩频因子和带宽. 扩频因子确定单个chi持续多长时间, 即它传播的宽度”. 较高的因子表示较宽的符号, 确保更长的LoRaWAN传输范围, 而且数据传输速度较慢. 在LoRa中, 7 至 12 被定义为, 这意味着LoRaWAN的传输速度最大为 37.5 千比特 / s至最小 300 一点 / 可以实现. 带宽固定为 125 千赫, 250 kHz或 500 kHz,并且还会影响信号的范围和速度. 这些参数的具体选择由LoRaWAN确定.

LoRa使用的频率取决于地区. 在欧洲, 您可以 868 兆赫或 433 可以发送MHz. 重要的是要提到这些频率是免许可证频谱, 因此使用它们不需要任何许可费. 为了弥补这一点, 应用时间, 发送所有设备必须遵守的限制. 这些介于 0.1% 和 10%, 取决于使用的频率.

2.1.2 什么是 广域网

LoRaWAN是MAC协议 (OSI层 2), 基于LoRa (而且还可以搭配FSK使用), 以及网络协议的某些元素 (OSI层 3) 包含. 它定义了一种消息格式, 以及控制传输的MAC命令. 底层LoRa传输的参数也由LoRaWAN确定. 第一部分是实际规格, 定义消息格式, MAC命令, 和顺序. 区域参数, LoRa的哪些特定设置, 以及对LoRaWAN协议的一些调整或补充, 可作为扩展定义,具体取决于各个区域.

LoRaWAN网络由几组参与者组成,并按星形排列, 如图 5. 中间是网络服务器, 这是LoRaWAN网络的服务器端管理,并为客户端应用程序提供API. 管理LoRaWAN应用程序,并发送和发送消息以进行接收. 该服务器通过IP连接与多个网关通信. 他们的主要任务是将通过LoRa从网络服务器接收到的LoRaWAN数据包转发到终端设备,反之亦然. 相应地, 它们充当更改物理介质的接口. 与与一个或多个网关进行通信以传输其数据的终端设备相比,它位于终端. LoRaWAN协议仅在网关和使用的终端设备之间. 没有为剩余路径和该格式定义标准, 因此, 取决于使用的特定应用.

在这种情况下, LoRaWAN承担一些任务, 这将在下面进一步解释. 这包括使用不同的通信类别,可以以不同的方式传输数据, 将设备添加到LoRaWAN应用程序的两个选项, 传输数据的加密和完整性检查, 以及用于控制连接的各种MAC命令. 后者将不作进一步解释,因为它们非常具体并且与这项工作无关.

2.1.3 LoRaWAN数据传输模式

LoRaWAN支持三种不同的数据传输模式. 每个Modi都有特定的用例, 优缺点, 下面列出了.

A级

A级 模式 是所有终端设备和网关使用的主要LoRaWAN传输模式. 它允许根据ALOHA原理在终端和网关之间进行双向通信. 如果是LoRaWAN, 这意味着终端可以随时发送数据, 但在发送数据包后只有两个短暂的间隔也可以接收数据.

此模式的优势在于,终端设备仅在发送数据时以及在打开LoRa收发器以接收响应后不久. 这意味着它可以在大多数时间保持关闭状态, 节省能源. 缺点, 然而, 是终端在其他所有时间都没有任何数据可以接收. 此外, 每个发送的数据包只能接收一个.

A类操作, 因此, 在主要发送上行链路消息而很少发送下行链路消息时最有意义. 由于LoRaWAN最好用于通常只为终端应用提供状态信息的传感器和类似的低性能终端设备中,因此大多数终端设备都使用LoRaWAN,因此首选数据传输模式.

LoRaWAN transmission class a

B级

B类是终端设备不需要支持的扩展. 除A类外,终端设备还可以定期使用此模式. 从网关接收数据,而无需先自己发送. 每次向信标发送一个所谓的信标 128 s, 其中包含有关网关的一些状态信息. 然后,接收到此信息的终端设备可以使用信标和ping时隙周期性来计算可以接收数据的时间. 这样一来,他们可以在适当的时间短时间打开LoRa收发器,以接收可能存在的任何数据. 该过程如下所示.

LoRaWAN transmission class b

B级在可访问性和能耗之间取得了良好的平衡,因为可以调整ping时隙的周期性来控制应该多久接收一次. 这意味着比纯粹的A类操作要消耗更多的能量, 但是仍然有很长一段时间可以关闭LoRa收发器. B类的另一个优点是能够将数据存储在 8 能够同时将多播传输到多个设备, 只要地址和键相同. 组播组可以, 因此, 被创造.

如果设备必须更频繁地接收数据而不自己发送数据,则使用B类是有意义的, 但该设备仍必须高效节能. 典型的应用是常规设备,这些设备可以在不受时间限制的情况下进行控制.

C级

最后, 也可选, 传输模式为C级. 在这个, 交换机终端永久处于接收状态,以便能够随时从网关接收数据. A类传输的选项仍然如下图所示.

LoRaWAN transmission class c

C类的优点是可以随时接收数据. 然而, 这样做的代价是高能耗, 因为终端设备必须始终保持LoRa收发器处于活动状态. LoRaWAN组播也可以在这里传输.

仅当必须在短时间内传输大量数据或发生时间紧迫的传输时,才应使用C类. 此类终端设备应具有永久电源,因为此模式会消耗过多的能量来进行电池操作.

Examined Topics With LoRaWAN Transmission Speed

LoRaWAN transmission speed

The most important ability of IoT devices is that of communication. there are different protocols with different areas of application. While WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee or other radio standards are often used for short distances in the home, devices have to be located elsewhere use alternative technologies. Such a group of technologies is LoRaWAN transmission. However, these have the advantage of a significantly longer range and better energy efficiency than most other radio standards at the expense of bandwidth. The picture below shows LoRaWAN compared to some other wireless communication protocols. LoRaWAN technologies are mostly used when end devices are installed in locations that only work with other technologies that are difficult to achieve, or when energy efficiency is of great importance. In this LoRaWAN is used as LPWAN technology.

However, range and power consumption are not the only important points in the IoT. One issue that is often neglected is the security of networked devices. Between 2017 and 2018 alone, the number of known malware for IoT devices increased almost quadrupled. But malware isn’t the only threat. Lots of IoT devices send data inadequately protected, causing attacks on that data and thus also on the IoT infrastructure. Espionage, manipulation of data and the complete takeover of systems are exemplary attack scenarios.

Another relevant topic in IoT security is firmware updates; they enable manufacturers to bring new functions to devices and, in the event of security incidents, to remedy them without the user having to become active. It is extremely important that the updates are also carried out in a secure manner so that attackers are unable to inject fake firmware into a device.

Combining firmware updates and end devices that use a LoRaWAN protocol for data transmission creates a completely new challenge. While for IP-based technologies, such as B. W-LAN, there are already some suggestions for specific protocols, updates via LoRaWAN are still largely unexplored. The reason that the classic protocols cannot be used can be found in the restrictions of LoRaWAN technologies. LoRaWAN, for example, has high limitations in terms of data rate and LoRaWAN transmission speed and has no standardized transport protocol, which compensates for losses in data transmission could.

1.1 The smart mailbox

In this work, a specific application is considered and various topics of IoT security are examined. A smart mailbox was developed, which notifies the user via their smartphone when mail is in the mailbox has been received.

1.1.1 Use case

The basic idea of ​​the smart mailbox is to make sure that the user doesn’t constantly have to open his mailbox to find out if there is any mail in it. Instead, he should receive a notification on his mobile device as soon as there is mail is in the mailbox. This has the advantage that the time of the user is not unnecessary due to mailboxes that are far from the user or that rarely contain mail Is claimed.

The functions of the application are deliberately kept small because of the focus on security and energy efficiency. In addition, the application was developed as an “extension”. It should be possible to do this with little effort on the part of the user to install any letterboxes. Battery operation and a small form factor are thus also requirements for the project.

1.1.2 Examined topics with LoRaWAN transmission

As mentioned earlier, the focus of the work is on IoT security. In addition, energy efficiency is considered. From these priorities, there are several subtopics that are examined using the smart mailbox have been the first point is the secure, E2E-encrypted data LoRaWAN transmission. Especially With mailboxes in public areas, it is important that an attacker does not find out can determine whether and how much mail is in the mailbox. This prevents who can easily find out if a break-in would be worthwhile. Protection is also important against manipulation to prevent the user from receiving false information about the condition of the mailbox. In addition, it is examined to what extent the negotiation of cryptographic keys for these tasks is a secure way can be carried out without the manufacturer of the device or third parties can find out.

The next main point of investigation is the secure firmware updates via LoRaWAN. There is currently no official standard regarding the transfer of firmware. Updates via LoRaWAN. In this respect, it is one of the main tasks of this work
to design and test. In the end, the smart mailbox should be able to carry out firmware updates via LoRaWAN without user intervention. These updates must also be cryptographically secured to prevent manipulation. Finally, it is examined how mail is thrown into a mailbox device that can be recognized. Various technologies were examined and a suitable one was identified.

2.1 LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN is a LoRaWAN solution for IoT applications with a small amount of data energy-efficient and can be transmitted wirelessly over large distances. It consists of the one hand of LoRa radio, a protocol for physical data LoRaWAN transmission and on the other hand of LoRaWAN itself, a MAC protocol which is based on LoRa builds up and provides a standardized procedure for the transfer of data via LoRa. LoRaWAN, as one of the key points in this work, was used for communication with the end devices, including the smart mailbox.

2.1.1 What is LoRa

LoRa is a frequency modulation process developed by Semtech wireless communication between two communication partners allowed. It is, therefore, a physical protocol (OSI Layer 1), which only takes over the modulation of the physical data transmission. LoRa uses frequency-modulated chirps to encode symbols. The chirp modulation used uses “chirps” to transmit symbols. The frequency is continuously changed across the bandwidth over a defined period of time. The symbols transferred are about the beginning of the chirp are defined.

The primary advantages that this modulation offers compared to FSK or PSK are the long-range and the robustness against noise. Both are from the spreading factor and bandwidth used. The spreading factor determines how long a single chirp lasts, ie how wide it is spreading”. A higher factor means wider symbols, which ensures longer LoRaWAN transmission ranges, but also slower data transmission. In LoRa spreading factors from 7 to 12 is defined, which means LoRaWAN transmission speed from a maximum of 37.5 kbit / s to a minimum of 300 bit / s can be achieved. The bandwidth is fixed at 125 kHz, 250 kHz or 500 kHz and also influences the range and speed of the signal. The concrete choice of these parameters is determined by LoRaWAN.

The frequencies that LoRa uses depend on the region. In Europe, you can 868 MHz or at 433 MHz can be sent. It is important to mention that these frequencies are license-free spectra, so there is no license fee to use them. To compensate for this, apply temporal, send restrictions that all devices must adhere to. These are between 0.1% and 10%, depending on the frequency used.

2.1.2 What is LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN is a MAC protocol (OSI Layer 2), which is based on LoRa (but also with FSK can be used), and also some elements of a network protocol (OSI Layer 3) contains. It defines a message format, as well as MAC commands to control the transfer. The parameters for the underlying LoRa transmission are also determined by LoRaWAN. The first part is the actual specification, which defines the message formats, the MAC commands, and the sequence. The regional parameters, which specific settings for LoRa, as well as some adjustments or additions to the LoRaWAN protocol, are available as an extension define depending on the respective region.

A LoRaWAN network consists of several groups of participants and is organized in a star-by-star topology, as shown in Figure 5. In the middle is the network server, which is the server-side administration of the LoRaWAN network and offers an API for client applications. Manage LoRaWAN applications and both send and send messages to receive. This server communicates with several gateways via an IP connection. Their primary task is to forward the LoRaWAN packets received from the network server to the end devices via LoRa and vice versa. Accordingly, they serve as an interface for changing the physical medium. Stand at the end than the end devices that communicate with one or more gateways to transmit their data. The LoRaWAN protocol is only between the gateway and the end devices used. No standard is defined for the remaining paths and that format, therefore, depends on the specific applications used.

In this context, LoRaWAN takes on some tasks, which are explained further below. This includes the different communication classes that are used data can be transmitted in different ways, the two options for adding devices to a LoRaWAN application, the encryption and integrity check of transmitted data, and the various MAC commands for controlling the connection. The latter will not be explained further because they are very specific and are not relevant to this work.

2.1.3 LoRaWAN Data transmission modes

LoRaWAN supports three different modes for data transmission. Each of these Modi has specific use cases, as well as advantages and disadvantages, which are listed below.

Class-A

Class-A mode is the primary LoRaWAN transmission mode used by all end devices and gateways must be supported. It allows bidirectional communication between terminal and gateway based on the ALOHA principle. In the case of LoRaWAN, this means a terminal can send data at any time, but only for two short one’s Intervals after sending a data packet can also receive data.

The advantage of this mode is that a terminal device only while sending data and shortly after this turn on the LoRa transceiver to receive a response got to. This means that it can remain deactivated most of the time, which saves energy. The disadvantage, however, is that the terminal does not have any data at all other times can receive. In addition, only one can be received for each data packet sent become.

Class A operation, therefore, makes the most sense when primarily sending uplink messages and rarely downlink messages. Since LoRaWAN preferably in sensors and similar low-performance end devices that normally only provide status information for an end application is used for most end devices the preferred data transfer mode.

LoRaWAN transmission class a

Class-B

Class-B is an extension that does not have to be supported by end devices. By this mode can be used by end devices in addition to Class-A at regular intervals. Receive data from the gateway without first having to send it yourself. To the beacon sends a so-called beacon every 128 s, which contains some status information about the gateway. End devices that receive this can then use the beacon and the ping slot periodicity to calculate the times at which data can be received. This allows them to be at the right time for short moments switch on the LoRa transceiver to receive any data that may be present. The process is shown below.

LoRaWAN transmission class b

Class-B offers a good balance between accessibility and energy consumption since the ping slot periodicity can be adjusted to control how often it should be received. This means that more energy is used than for pure Class A operation, but there are still long periods in which the LoRa transceiver can be turned off. Another advantage of Class-B is the ability to store data in 8 to be able to transmit multicast to several devices simultaneously, as long as the address and the keys are the same. Multicast groups can, therefore, be created.

The use of Class-B makes sense if a device has to receive data more often without sending data itself, but the device still has to work energy-efficiently. A typical application would be end devices that are regular can be controlled without being time-critical.

Class-C

The last, also optional, the transmission mode is Class-C. In this, the switches terminal permanently on reception to be able to receive data from the gateway at any time. The option of transmission with Class-A remains as in the picture below.

LoRaWAN transmission class c

The advantage of Class-C is that data can be received at any time. However, the price for this is high energy consumption, since the end device must keep the LoRa transceiver active at all times. Multicast LoRaWAN transmission is also possible here.

Class-C should only be used when large amounts of data have to be transferred over a short period of time or when time-critical transfers occur. Such end devices should have a permanent power supply since this mode consumes too much energy for battery operation.