كيف تعمل تقنية آي بيكون: الانهيار المتعمق

جدول المحتويات

الإشارات التنبيهية عبارة عن أجهزة إرسال لاسلكية تستخدم تقنية Bluetooth منخفضة الطاقة لإرسال إشارات تُعرف باسم BLE إلى الأجهزة الذكية القريبة. منارات بلوتوث يتم تثبيتها في مواقع مختلفة وإرسال إشعارات الدفع إلى العملاء على هواتفهم المحمولة. يحتوي إشعار الدفع على محتوى متعلق بالموقع الحالي للشخص. الغرض من تقنية iBeacon هو تحسين التسويق وتحسين تجربة العملاء.

أنت هنا لأنك تريد أن تتعلم تقنية iBeacon. سترشدك هذه المقالة حول الجوانب المختلفة لهذه التقنية المذهلة مثل متطلبات الإعداد الخاصة بها, العمل, والمزايا.

ما هو جهاز آي بيكون

معظم الوقت, يتم استخدام مصطلحات منارة و iBeacon بالتبادل. ومع ذلك, iBeacon هو في الأساس مصطلح مسجّل كعلامة تجارية تستخدمه Apple لنظام التعرف على الموقع. فهو يسمح لتطبيقات الهاتف المحمول المختلفة التي تعمل على أجهزة Android وiOS المختلفة باستقبال الإشارات من هذا الجهاز في العالم المادي.

يرسل هذا الجهاز إشعارات فورية تحتوي على معلومات مفيدة على أساس الموقع الحالي للعميل. يستخدم تقنية البلوتوث منخفضة الطاقة(أصبح) لاتصالاتها.

المكونات الأساسية لنظام أي بيكون

لكي تعمل تقنية iBeacon بفعالية, هناك بعض المكونات الأساسية التي تحتاج إلى العمل معًا. يتطلب نظام iBeacon المكونات الأساسية التالية لكي تعمل بشكل جيد:

أجهزة إرسال آي بيكون

  • جهاز إرسال iBeacon هو جهاز لاسلكي صغير يتم تثبيته في مكان لبث تقنية Bluetooth منخفضة الطاقة (أصبح) إشارات.
  • يمكن وضعها على الجدران, السقوف, الرفوف, إلخ, وينقل إشارات تحتوي على معرف فريد.

أجهزة الاستقبال المتوافقة

  • يحتاج جهاز الاستقبال إلى إمكانية Bluetooth Smart لاكتشاف إشارات iBeacon.
  • يجب أن يعمل بإصدار متوافق من نظام التشغيل iOS أو Android.
  • تحتوي معظم الهواتف الذكية الحديثة على تقنية Bluetooth مدمجة يمكنها العمل مع iBeacons.

تطبيقات لاكتشاف إشارات iBeacon والتصرف بناءً عليها

  • مطلوب تطبيق متخصص على جهاز الاستقبال للبحث بشكل مستمر عن إشارات iBeacon واكتشافها.
  • يحدد التطبيق القرب بناءً على قوة الإشارة ويقوم بتشغيل الإجراءات المناسبة مثل الإشعارات.
  • يمكن إنشاء التطبيقات باستخدام أطر عمل iBeacon مثل Core Location على iOS أو حزم SDK التابعة لجهات خارجية.

أذونات موقع المستخدم

  • لكي يتمكن التطبيق من اكتشاف إشارات iBeacon, يحتاج المستخدمون إلى منح إذن الموقع.
  • يتيح ذلك للتطبيق البحث باستمرار عن أجهزة iBeacon القريبة وتحديد مدى قربها.
  • يعد الإذن أمرًا بالغ الأهمية لوظيفة iBeacon, بدونه لا يمكن للتطبيق اكتشاف الإشارات.

من المهم ملاحظة أن الهواتف الذكية لا تطلق إجراءات بنفسها بناءً على القرب من المنارات. يكتشف تطبيق معين مثبت على هذه الأجهزة الإشارات باستخدام واجهات برمجة تطبيقات مختلفة مثل Estimote SDK أو بعض الأطر الأصلية الأخرى بواسطة Apple. تتوفر قائمة كاملة متوافقة مع BLE على موقع Bluetooth الرسمي حتى تتمكن من التحقق من جهازك هناك.

كيف تعمل تقنية آي بيكون

يتم تثبيت أجهزة iBeacon على الجدران أو وضعها في مواقع ثابتة. تقوم أجهزة إرسال iBeacon ببث تقنية Bluetooth منخفضة الطاقة (أصبح) إشارات على فترات منتظمة, حتى في حالة عدم وجود جهاز استقبال في النطاق.

كيف تعمل تقنية آي بيكون

إشارات البث iBeacons

تحتوي هذه الإشارات المرسلة على معرف فريد عالميًا (UUID), قيمة كبرى, وقيمة بسيطة لتحديد كل تقنية أي بيكون. يشير UUID إلى المؤسسة التي تنتمي إليها الإشارة, بينما تميز القيم الكبرى والصغرى المنارات الفردية. تتم معايرة قوة نقل إشارات بليه بحيث يمكن لقوة الإشارة تقدير مسافة القرب – الإشارات الأقوى تعني مسافة أقرب.

تقوم التطبيقات باكتشاف إشارات iBeacon والتصرف بناءً عليها

على أجهزة الاستقبال مثل الهواتف الذكية, تقوم التطبيقات المتخصصة بالبحث بشكل مستمر عن إشارات BLE هذه في الخلفية. عندما يكتشف التطبيق إشارة iBeacon, يقوم باستخراج UUID, رئيسي, والقيم الثانوية من الإرسال. باستخدام قوة الإشارة (RSSI), يقوم التطبيق بتقدير مدى بعد الجهاز عن iBeacon. مع UUID والقيم الرئيسية/الثانوية, يحدد التطبيق جهاز iBeacon المحدد الذي تم اكتشافه. إذا لزم الأمر, يمكن للتطبيق بعد ذلك تشغيل الإجراءات المناسبة مثل دفع الإشعارات أو النوافذ المنبثقة للمعلومات بناءً على قواعد جهاز iBeacon هذا. بدون تطبيق ذي صلة, ليس من الممكن التقاط بث iBeacon.

iBeacon سignal أناتحديد الأسنان – UUID, ممدرب, ملا أحد, قوة تكساس

يستخدم معيار iBeacon إشارات BLE لبث معلومات التعريف إلى الأجهزة القريبة. هناك 4 المعرفات الرئيسية الواردة في كل إرسال iBeacon:

المعرف العالمي الفريد - UUID: هذا هو في الأساس ملف 16 سلسلة وداعًا التي تعطي هوية فريدة لـ iBeacon. فمثلا, إذا كان لدى Coca-Cola شبكة من الإشارات في محل البقالة, جميع الإشارات التابعة لشركة Coca-Cola لها نفس رمز UUID. يحتوي هذا المعرف الفريد على معلومات عامة تتعلق بالمنارة مثل من يملكها وأي شركة تمتلكها.

رائد: هذا في الأساس عبارة عن سلسلة ثنائية البايت تُستخدم لتحديد مجموعة فرعية أصغر من المنارات بشكل فريد داخل المجموعة الأكبر. فمثلا, إذا استخدمت Coca-Cola 4 منارات في محل بقالة معين, الكل 4 سوف تحتوي منارات على نفس التخصص. يساعد Coca-Cola على معرفة الموقع الدقيق لعملائها في المتجر المحدد.

تحت السن القانوني: هذا أيضًا عبارة عن سلسلة ثنائية البايت تساعد في تحديد المنارات بشكل فردي. لنأخذ مثال Coca-Cola مرة أخرى. هناك 4 منارات في محل بقالة واحد. الكل 4 منارات لها قاصر فريد. يساعد القاصر شركة على تحديد الموقع الدقيق للعميل داخل المتجر بشكل فريد.

قوة تكساس: يوفر مسافة القرب من العميل من المنارة. كيف يعمل Tx Power? تحدد قوة Tx قوة الإشارة بالضبط 1 متر من جهاز منارة. يتم ترميزه ومعايرته مسبقًا بحيث تستخدمه الأجهزة كخط أساسي وتوفر المسافة المقدرة للمستخدم.

المفتاح دالفرق بين تقنية أي بيكون وEddystone

iBeacon وEddystone كلاهما يعملان بتقنية Bluetooth منخفضة الطاقة (أصبح) بروتوكولات المنارة التي لديها بعض الاختلافات الرئيسية.

تقنية: تقنية iBeacon هي في الأساس بروتوكول منارة طورته شركة Apple, فتتحكم أبل في كافة مواصفاتها. iOS 7 أو الإصدارات الأحدث تدعم هذا البروتوكول وتسمح لأجهزة iPad و iPhone بالبحث عن أجهزة Bluetooth مختلفة قريبة. من ناحية أخرى, Eddystone beacons هي منارات مفتوحة المصدر يمكن تصنيعها من قبل أي شركة بسعر مناسب. يمكن لأي شخص استخدام المواصفات من GitHub.

التوافق: iBeacon متوافق مع Android و iOS ولكنه أصلي فقط لنظام iOS. ومع ذلك, Eddystone متوافق مع Android, iOS, وجميع الأنظمة الأساسية التي تدعم إشارات BLE.

سهولة الاستعمال: iBeacon سهل التنفيذ للغاية. ومع ذلك, يعد Eddystone أكثر مرونة ويتطلب المزيد من البرمجة للتكامل. في الواقع, تقوم شركات مختلفة بتطوير إشارات باستخدام Eddystone بطريقتها الخاصة بحيث يمكن أن تكون معقدة.

إستعمال: في iBeacon, UUIDs, رمز محدد, لديك ارتباط بخادم المطور. عندما يتم إرسال هذا الرمز إلى أي هاتف ذكي, ويحتاج الجهاز إلى تطبيق خاص للقيام بمهمة خاصة بعد استلام الرمز. لذلك يتطلب تطبيقًا للعمل المناسب. من ناحية أخرى, يستخدم Eddystone عنوان URL بدلاً من UUID حتى يتمكن المستخدمون من فتحه بسهولة في المتصفح. لذلك لا يتطلب أي تطبيق لعمله.

الأمن والخصوصية: ينقل iBeacon إشاراته علنًا. يمكن لأي شخص اكتشافه بسهولة باستخدام أجهزة iOS. علاوة على ذلك, هناك تطبيقات مختلفة متاحة لكل من Android و iOS يمكنها اكتشاف رمز UUID. لذلك فهي ليست آمنة للغاية. ومع ذلك, يحتوي Eddystone على ميزة تُعرف باسم المعرف المؤقت الذي يسمح للمنارات بإرسال إشارة بحيث يتمكن العملاء المعتمدون فقط من التعرف على تلك الإشارة.

API: نظرًا لأن iBeacon عبارة عن برنامج خاص، فهو لا يحتوي على واجهة برمجة تطبيقات محددة. ومع ذلك, Eddystone هو مصدر مفتوح وواجهة برمجة التطبيقات الخاصة به متاحة للاستخدام المفتوح.

شاملة, لكل من المنارات بعض الإيجابيات والسلبيات حتى تتمكن من اختيار أي منها وفقًا لاحتياجاتك. إذا كنت ترغب في تطوير منارة خاصة بك, ستختار بالتأكيد Eddystone لأنه مفتوح المصدر.

الأجهزة المتوافقة وإصدارات نظام التشغيل لـ iBeacon

لكي تعمل تقنية iBeacon, يجب أن تكون الأجهزة والتطبيقات المستقبلة متوافقة مع بروتوكول iBeacon. العوامل الرئيسية التي تمكن اتصال iBeacon هي الأجهزة المناسبة, إصدار نظام التشغيل, أذونات الموقع, وتطبيق متكامل. فيما يلي نظرة عامة على اعتبارات التوافق لنظامي التشغيل iOS وAndroid:

أجهزة iOS المتوافقة مع تقنية iBeacon

  • يتطلب iBeacon أجهزة iPhone, أجهزة آيباد, أو موديلات iPod Touch المزودة بتقنية Bluetooth 4.0 أو لاحقا. وهذا يشمل iPhone 4S أو الأحدث.
  • للحصول على ميزات تحديد الموقع الدقيق والكشف عن الخلفية الكاملة, تحتاج أجهزة iOS إلى نظام iOS 7 أو لاحقا. تتمتع إصدارات iOS السابقة بدعم محدود.
  • يتعين على المستخدمين منح إذن الموقع للتطبيقات لاكتشاف أجهزة iBeacons.

أجهزة Android المتوافقة مع iBeacon

  • تدعم معظم الهواتف الذكية الحديثة التي تعمل بنظام Android اتصال iBeacon على مستوى الأجهزة.
  • للبرمجيات, ذكري المظهر 5.0 يوصى باستخدام Lollipop أو الإصدارات الأحدث لتكامل iBeacon بشكل جيد. تتمتع الإصدارات السابقة من نظام التشغيل Android بدعم محدود.
  • ليست هناك حاجة إلى أجهزة خاصة, ولكن يجب تشغيل البلوتوث الخاص بالجهاز لاكتشاف iBeacons.

التطبيقات المطلوبة لتفاعلات iBeacon

  • على كل من منصات iOS وAndroid, مطلوب تطبيق متخصص مع دعم iBeacon.
  • توفر العديد من تطبيقات الطرف الثالث إمكانات اكتشاف وتكامل iBeacon خارج الصندوق.
  • للتطبيقات المخصصة, يمكن استخدام واجهات برمجة تطبيقات iBeacon الأصلية لنظام التشغيل iOS أو Android لإنشاء وظائف iBeacon.
  • يجب أن تطلب التطبيقات إذن تحديد موقع المستخدم بالإضافة إلى إمكانية الوصول إلى البلوتوث.

تطبيقات iBeacon وحالات الاستخدام في العالم الحقيقي

تلعب تقنية iBeacon دورًا مهمًا في استراتيجيات التسويق. فيما يلي بعض حالات الاستخدام الشائعة لتقنية iBeacon في مختلف الصناعات:

الموقع الصغير والملاحة الداخلية: يمكن لـ iBeacons توفير بيانات موقع دقيقة في الداخل حيث يفشل نظام تحديد المواقع العالمي (GPS) غالبًا. يمكن للتطبيقات استخدام iBeacons لتوجيه المستخدمين عبر المتاحف, المطارات, محلات البقالة, إلخ.

التسويق القرب والإخطارات: يمكن للمتاجر إرسال إشعارات للعملاء حول الصفقات والتوصيات عند دخولهم الأقسام المختلفة. يمكن للمتاحف توفير المزيد من المعلومات حول المعروضات القريبة من موقع المستخدم.

تتبع الأصول: يمكن لـ iBeacons الموضوعة على المعدات والمخزون تتبع حركتها وموقعها في المستودعات, مكاتب, إلخ. يمكن للموظفين تحديد موقع الموارد المشتركة بسرعة.

مراقبة الحضور: يمكن للمدارس والفعاليات تسجيل الحضور من خلال اكتشاف وقت دخول/خروج الأشخاص من منطقة iBeacon. يتم ذلك بشكل مجهول دون الحاجة إلى تسجيل وصول المستخدم.

المدفوعات غير التلامسية: تعمل تقنية iBeacons على تمكين عمليات الدفع عبر الهاتف المحمول المستندة إلى الموقع. بدلاً من الحاجة إلى فتح التطبيق, يمكن أن تتم عمليات الدفع تلقائيًا أثناء انتقال المستخدم عبر المتجر.

مع الاستشعار الدقيق للموقع الدقيق والقدرة على تشغيل الإشعارات السياقية, تفتح iBeacons العديد من التطبيقات الجديدة القائمة على القرب. التجزئه, الأحداث, وسائل النقل, تصنيع, ويمكن للعديد من الصناعات الأخرى الاستفادة من هذه التكنولوجيا المتنوعة.

ما مقدار الطاقة التي يستهلكها جهاز iBeacon

أجهزة التنبيه هي أجهزة قائمة بذاتها تستخدم البطاريات للعمل. لذلك من المهم للغاية أن يكون لديك فكرة عن استهلاك الطاقة في iBeacon. وبالتالي, سؤال يطرح نفسه هنا: كم من الوقت تعمل المنارة حتى تتوقف بطاريتها عن العمل? حسنا, وكما سبق أن ذكرنا فإن هذه الأجهزة تعمل بتقنية Bluetooth Low Energy, لذا فمن المتفائل أنهم لا يستهلكون الكثير من الطاقة.

بقسوة, يمكن أن يعمل المنارة المتوسطة لمدة عام كامل على الأقل ولا يتطلب استبدال البطارية. علاوة على ذلك, يعتمد عمر البطارية أيضًا على نوع المنارة. فمثلا, ملكنا منارة العملة M1 يوفر عمر بطارية يصل إلى 16 شهرًا, بينما ال M3 منارة صناعية لديه عمر بطارية يصل إلى 20 سنوات.

ما مدى أمان بروتوكول iBeacon

هناك علامة استفهام حول أمان بروتوكول iBeacon. ضع في اعتبارك أن هذا البروتوكول لا يوفر أي أمان على الإطلاق. في الأساس, من السهل للغاية مسح معرفات المنارة الخاصة بك. وبالتالي, إذا وجدت UUID, رائد, والسلاسل الثانوية أو المعرفات, يمكنك ببساطة استنساخ هذا المنارة, من خلال تعيين معلماته الحالية لجهاز منارة آخر أو محاكاة ذلك من خلال استخدام هاتفك الذكي. على الرغم من أن جميع الهواتف الذكية غير قادرة على محاكاة المنارات, سيتم زيادة هذا الرقم في المستقبل.

سيكون من الأفضل عدم استخدام تقنية iBeacon لتبادل البيانات الحساسة. دعنا نفهم أمان هذا الجهاز من خلال اتخاذ موقف افتراضي. دعنا نقول, تستخدم هذا الجهاز لفتح بوابتك. يقوم أحد الموظفين المعتمدين لديك بمسح منارة للدخول أو الخروج. كما تعلم ، فإن نطاق المنارة تقريبًا 30 متر في المتوسط, لذلك فهذا يعني أن الجاني يمكنه بسهولة إنشاء مفتاح منارة مطابق للمفتاح الأصلي من خلال الجلوس في مكان ما بجانب منزلك أو مكتبك. لذلك باستخدام هذا المفتاح, يمكنه فتح الباب.

ربما تفكر في كيفية حصول الجاني على معرفات المنارة? لا مشكلة. هناك تطبيقات مختلفة متاحة تمنحك هذه الوظيفة. تقدم هذه التطبيقات جميع معلومات المنارة في نطاق معين.

كيفية حماية أمن تكنولوجيا iBeacon

هل هناك أي طريقة لحماية أمن iBeacon? حسنا, تتقدم تقنية المنارة يومًا بعد يوم. تعتزم شركات مختلفة الآن تأمين إشارات المرور بكلمات مرور حتى لا يتمكن أي خاطف من إرسال إشعارات إلى العملاء. ما يزال, نوصيك بعدم استخدام الإشارات لمعلوماتك الحساسة. علاوة على ذلك, يجب عليك شراء هذا الجهاز من جهة موثوقة الشركة المصنعة للمنارة مثل موكوسمارت.

واصل القراءة عن IBEACON

كتب بواسطة --
نيك هي
نيك هي
نيك, مدير مشروع متمرس في R&قسم د, يجلب ثروة من الخبرة إلى MOKOSMART, بعد أن عملت سابقًا كمهندس مشروع في BYD. خبرته في R&يجلب D مهارة شاملة لإدارة مشروع إنترنت الأشياء الخاص به. مع خلفية صلبة تمتد 6 سنوات في إدارة المشاريع والحصول على شهادات مثل PMP وCSPM-2, يتفوق نيك في تنسيق الجهود عبر المبيعات, هندسة, اختبارات, وفرق التسويق. تشمل مشاريع أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء التي شارك فيها المنارات, أجهزة LoRa, بوابات, والمقابس الذكية.
نيك هي
نيك هي
نيك, مدير مشروع متمرس في R&قسم د, يجلب ثروة من الخبرة إلى MOKOSMART, بعد أن عملت سابقًا كمهندس مشروع في BYD. خبرته في R&يجلب D مهارة شاملة لإدارة مشروع إنترنت الأشياء الخاص به. مع خلفية صلبة تمتد 6 سنوات في إدارة المشاريع والحصول على شهادات مثل PMP وCSPM-2, يتفوق نيك في تنسيق الجهود عبر المبيعات, هندسة, اختبارات, وفرق التسويق. تشمل مشاريع أجهزة إنترنت الأشياء التي شارك فيها المنارات, أجهزة LoRa, بوابات, والمقابس الذكية.
شارك هذا المنشور
تمكين المتصلين بك تحتاج مع MOKOSmart حلول الأجهزة الكثير!

How iBeacon Technology Works: The In-depth Breakdown

How iBeacon Technology Works: The In-depth Breakdown

Beacons are wireless transmitters that use low-energy Bluetooth technology to send signals known as BLE to nearby smart devices. Bluetooth beacons are installed at different locations and send push notifications to the customers on their cellphones. The push notification has content related to the person’s current location. The purpose of iBeacon technology is to enhance marketing and better customer experience.

You are here because you want to learn iBeacon technology. This article will guide you about different aspects of this amazing technology such as its setup requirements, working, and advantages.

What is an iBeacon device

Most of the time, beacon and iBeacon terms are used interchangeably. However, iBeacon is basically a trademarked term used by Apple for its location-aware system. It allows different mobile apps running on different Android and iOS devices to receive signals from this device in the physical world.

This device sends push notifications that contain useful information on the basis of the customer’s current location. It uses Bluetooth Low Energy(BLE) for its communication.

Core components of an iBeacon system

For iBeacon technology to function effectively, there are some key components that need to work together. An iBeacon system requires the following core components to work well:

iBeacon transmitters

  • The iBeacon transmitter is a small wireless device that is fixed in a place to broadcast Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) signals.
  • It can be placed on walls, ceilings, shelves, etc., and transmits signals containing a unique ID.

Compatible receiving devices

  • The receiving device needs to have Bluetooth Smart capability to detect iBeacon signals.
  • It should be running a compatible version of the iOS or Android operating system.
  • Most modern smartphones have built-in Bluetooth that can work with iBeacons.

Apps to detect and act on iBeacon signals

  • A specialized app is required on the receiving device to continuously scan for and detect iBeacon signals.
  • The app determines proximity based on signal strength and triggers appropriate actions like notifications.
  • Apps can be created using iBeacon frameworks like Core Location on iOS or third-party SDKs.

User location permissions

  • For the app to detect iBeacon signals, users need to grant location permission.
  • This allows the app to constantly scan for nearby iBeacon devices and determine proximity.
  • Permission is critical for iBeacon functionality, without it the app cannot detect signals.

It is important to note that smartphones don’t trigger actions themselves based on proximity to beacons. Specific app installed on these devices detects beacons by using different APIs such as Estimote SDK or some other native frameworks by Apple. A complete BLE-compatible list is available on the Bluetooth official site so you can verify your device there.

How does iBeacon technology work

The iBeacon devices are attached to walls or placed at fixed locations. iBeacon transmitters broadcast Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) signals at regular intervals, even when no receiving device is in range.

How does iBeacon technology work

iBeacons broadcasting signals

These transmitted signals contain a Universally Unique Identifier (UUID), major value, and minor value to identify each iBeacon. The UUID indicates which organization the beacon belongs to, while the major and minor values distinguish individual beacons. The transmission power of the BLE signals is calibrated so that the signal strength can estimate the proximity distance – stronger signals mean closer distance.

Apps detecting and acting on iBeacon signals

On receiving devices like smartphones, specialized apps continuously scan for these BLE signals in the background. When the app detects an iBeacon signal, it extracts the UUID, major, and minor values from the transmission. Using the signal strength (RSSI), the app estimates how far away the device is from the iBeacon. With the UUID and major/minor values, the app identifies the specific iBeacon that was detected. If required, the app can then trigger appropriate actions like push notifications or information pop-ups based on rules for that iBeacon. Without a relevant app, it is not possible to catch the iBeacon broadcasts.

iBeacon signal identifiers – UUID, Major, Minor, Tx Power

The iBeacon standard uses BLE signals to broadcast identifying information to nearby devices. There are 4 main identifiers contained in each iBeacon transmission:

Unique Universal Identifier – UUID: This is basically a 16 bye string that gives a unique identity to the iBeacon. For example, if Coca-Cola has a network of beacons in the grocery store, all beacons belonging to Coca-Cola have the same UUID code. This unique identifier contains general information related to the beacon such as who owns it and which business owns it.

Major: This is basically a two-byte string that is used to identify a smaller subset of beacons uniquely within the larger group. For example, if Coca-Cola utilizes 4 beacons in a specific grocery store, all 4 beacons would contain the same major. It helps Coca-Cola to know the exact location of its customers in the specific store.

Minor: This is also a two-byte string that helps to identify beacons individually. Let’s take the Coca-Cola example again. There are 4 beacons in the one grocery store. All 4 beacons have a unique minor. So minor helps a company to uniquely identify the exact location of a customer inside the store.

Tx Power: It provides the proximity distance of the customer from the beacon. How does Tx Power work? Tx power determines the strength of the signal exactly 1 meter from the beacon device. It is hardcoded and calibrated in advance so devices use this as a baseline and provide the estimated distance of the user.

The key difference between iBeacon and Eddystone

iBeacon and Eddystone are both Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) beacon protocols that have some key differences.

Technology: iBeacon technology is basically a beacon protocol developed by Apple,  so Apple controls its all specifications. iOS 7 or later versions support this protocol and allow iPads and iPhones to scan for different Bluetooth devices nearby. On the other hand, Eddystone beacons are open-source beacons that can be manufactured by any business at an affordable price. Anyone can use the specification from GitHub.

Compatibility: iBeacon is compatible with Android and iOS but it is native only for iOS. However, Eddystone is compatible with Android, iOS, and all platforms that have support for BLE beacons.

Ease of Use: iBeacon is extremely easy to implement. However, Eddystone is much more flexible and requires more coding for integration. Actually, different companies develop beacons with Eddystone in their own way so it can be complicated.

Usage: In iBeacon, UUIDs, a specific code, have a link with the developer’s server. When this code is sent to any smartphone, the device requires a special app to perform a special task after receiving the code. So it requires an app for proper work. On the other hand, Eddystone uses a URL instead of UUID so that users can open that easily in the browser. So it doesn’t require any app for its working.

Security and Privacy: iBeacon transmits its signal publically. Anyone can easily detect it by using iOS devices. Moreover, there are different apps available for both Android and iOS that can detect UUID code. So it is not very secure. However, Eddystone has a feature known as an Ephemeral Identifier that allows beacons to send a signal such that only authorized clients can identify that signal.

API: As iBeacon is proprietary software it doesn’t contain a specific API. However, Eddystone is an open-source and its API is available for open use.

Overall, both beacons have some pros and cons so you can pick any of them according to your needs. If you want to develop your own beacon, you will definitely go for Eddystone because it is open-source.

Compatible devices and OS versions for iBeacon

For iBeacon technology to work, the receiving devices and apps need to have compatibility with the iBeacon protocol. The key factors that enable iBeacon communication are proper hardware, OS version, location permissions, and an integrated app. Here is an overview of compatibility considerations for iOS and Android:

iOS devices compatible with iBeacon

  • iBeacon requires iPhones, iPads, or iPod Touch models with Bluetooth 4.0 or later. This includes iPhone 4S or newer.
  • For full microlocation and background detection features, iOS devices need iOS 7 or later. Earlier iOS versions have limited support.
  • Users have to grant location permission to apps for the detection of iBeacons.

Android devices compatible with iBeacon

  • Most modern Android smartphones support iBeacon communication at the hardware level.
  • For software, Android 5.0 Lollipop or later is recommended for good iBeacon integration. Earlier Android OS versions have limited support.
  • No special hardware is needed, but the device’s Bluetooth must be turned on to detect iBeacons.

Apps required for iBeacon interactions

  • On both iOS and Android platforms, a specialized app with iBeacon support is required.
  • Many third-party apps provide iBeacon detection and integration capabilities out of the box.
  • For custom apps, native iOS or Android iBeacon APIs can be used to build iBeacon functionality.
  • The apps must ask for user location permission along with Bluetooth access.

Real-world iBeacon applications and use cases

iBeacon technology plays a significant role in marketing strategies. Here are some of the common use cases of iBeacon technology across different industries:

Micro-location and indoor navigation: iBeacons can provide accurate location data indoors where GPS often fails. Apps can use iBeacons to guide users through museums, airports, grocery stores, etc.

Proximity marketing and notifications: Stores can send customers notifications about deals and recommendations as they enter different departments. Museums can provide more info about exhibits near a user’s location.

Asset tracking: iBeacons placed on equipment and inventory can track their movement and location in warehouses, offices, etc. Staff can quickly locate shared resources.

Attendance monitoring: Schools and events can take attendance by detecting when people enter/leave an iBeacon zone. This is done anonymously without needing user check-ins.

Contactless payments: iBeacons enable location-based mobile payments. Rather than needing to open an app, payments can happen automatically as a user moves through a store.

With accurate micro-location sensing and the ability to trigger contextual notifications, iBeacons open up many new proximity-based applications. Retail, events, transportation, manufacturing, and many other industries can benefit from this versatile technology.

How much energy does an iBeacon consume

Beacons are basically standalone devices that utilize batteries for working. So it is extremely important to have an idea about iBeacon energy consumption. Therefore, a question arises here: How long does a beacon work until its battery leaves functioning? Well, as we have already mentioned these devices work on Bluetooth Low Energy, so it’s optimistic that they don’t consume much energy.

Roughly, an average beacon can work for at least an entire year and doesn’t require battery replacement. Moreover, battery life also depends on the type of beacon. For example, our M1 coin beacon offers a 16-month battery life, while the M3 industrial beacon has a battery life of up to 20 years.

How secure is the iBeacon protocol

There is a question mark on the security of the iBeacon protocol. Keep in mind that this protocol doesn’t provide any security at all. Basically, it is extremely easy to scan your beacon IDs. Therefore, if you find out UUID, Major, and Minor strings or IDs, you can simply clone that beacon, by assigning its current parameters to another beacon device or emulate that by utilizing your smartphone. Although all smartphones are not capable of emulating beacons, this number will be increased in the future.

It would be much better not to use iBeacon technology to exchange sensitive data. Let’s understand the security of this device by taking a hypothetical situation. Let’s say, you use this device to open your gate. Someone from your authorized staff scans his or her beacon to come in or out. As you know the beacon range is approximately 30 meters on average, so it means an offender can easily create a beacon key identical to the original one by sitting somewhere besides your home or office. So by using that key, he can open the door.

You might be thinking how does the offender get beacon IDs? It’s not a big deal. There are different apps available that give you this functionality. These applications give all of the beacon’s information in a specific range.

How to protect iBeacon technology security

Is there any way to protect iBeacon security? Well, beacon technology is getting advanced day by day. Now different companies are intending to secure beacons with passwords so no hijacker can send notifications to the customers. Still, we recommend you not use beacons for your sensitive information. Moreover, you should purchase this device from a trustworthy beacon manufacturer such as MOKOSmart.

CONTINUE READING ABOUT IBEACON

Written by ——
Nick He
Nick He
Nick, a seasoned project manager in our R&D department, brings a wealth of experience to MOKOSMART, having previously served as a project engineer at BYD. His expertise in R&D brings a well-rounded skill to his IoT project management. With a solid background spanning 6 years in project management and get certifications like PMP and CSPM-2, Nick excels in coordinating efforts across sales, engineering, testing, and marketing teams. The IoT device projects he has participated in include Beacons, LoRa devices, gateways, and smart plugs.
Nick He
Nick He
Nick, a seasoned project manager in our R&D department, brings a wealth of experience to MOKOSMART, having previously served as a project engineer at BYD. His expertise in R&D brings a well-rounded skill to his IoT project management. With a solid background spanning 6 years in project management and get certifications like PMP and CSPM-2, Nick excels in coordinating efforts across sales, engineering, testing, and marketing teams. The IoT device projects he has participated in include Beacons, LoRa devices, gateways, and smart plugs.
Share this post